Soccer Rule Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000


Panel Login


Soccer Referee Questions on Soccer Rules
Welcome to AskTheRef.com -- a Soccer Law Question and Answer site. Providing answers to questions regarding soccer laws since October 11, 1999... to ask a question simply click on Ask the Ref in the menu bar and pose your question and the panel will reply. Those who have ideas or articles please feel free to contact the editor Richard Dawson at mrref@asktheref.com with suggestions.

Over the past 20 years we have amassed tens of thousands of questions & answers but the LOTG always change and/or portions no longer apply. Be SURE to reread the latest version IFAB 2020 - 2021 LOTG
Laws of the Game can be viewed here
http://www.theifab.com/document/laws-of-the-game




You Call It!

After two years and many request - You Call It is back! Now it's your turn to test your knowledge in a scenario created by our panel of referees. If your answer is spot on we will publish it on our site! Good luck click here!

Law 11 - Offside 1/26/2021

RE: Rec Adult

Russell of Sydney, Australia asks...

Ok - I'll be the one to ask.

Offside or not in the Man City v Aston villa EPL match?

Have heard a lot of debate on this one.

I listened to the match on radio and after the incident happened the commentator kept coming back to asking 'why was it allowed, when clearly Rodri was in an offside position?'.

Without seeing it, I ran all the possible reason why, and I kept coming back to the thinking that he must not have challenged for the ball or be involved in play.

Once I had seen it later in the day - and maybe influenced by my prior thinking - I had no hesitation to say fair goal, as I did not think he challenge, and was simply lucky that the chested ball fell to the defenders right side,...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 1/25/2021

RE: Competitive Adult

Peter Banbage of Hjorring , Denmark asks...

That thorny question of the ball striking an attacker leading to a goal or goal scoring opportunity. Is this only if it leads directly there? Maybe an extreme case but the ball hits an attacker several yards outside the box on his arm. Unlikely a free kick would be awarded. The ball is then worked into the box via 2 or 3 more players and a goal is scored. My point being how far back in this scenario do we go back and decide if that lead to a goal or is it only if it happened directly?...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 11 - Offside 1/24/2021

RE: Sekect/Competitive Adult

Tony of WHITEHORSE, Yukon Canada asks...

During FA Cup MUFC v LFC, Rashford scored a goal in 2nd half. When the ball was played thru a LFC defender knicked the ball while trying to stop the thru ball. Would this touch have negated the offside.... if Rashford was in an offside position? ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 11 - Offside 1/23/2021

RE: Adult

John of Athens, Greece asks...

https://youtu.be/Zz60dy9lGU4 at 1:47 a goal scored but a player in offside position attempted to play the ball without touching it . The goal was awarded.It is offside or good goal ?

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=EUyEnDt2fd4...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 11 - Offside 1/21/2021

RE: Ex Referee Adult

Lenard Wynne of Johannesburg, South Africa asks...

A defender is behind the goal line and out of the field of play and not involved in active play, an attacker who is now between the goal keeper and the second last defender receives the ball and scores, is the goal disallowed due to offside?...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 18 - Common Sense 1/20/2021

RE: rec High School

David Lovett of Royal Palm Beach, FL United States asks...

Ok so here we go. The new or shall I say latest handball rule. I have a simple question that I am sure does not have a simple answer. I am being told by fellow referees that the new rule states that you call the same foul differently based on whether it is the attacking team or the defending team that commits the handball offense. I have read the law over and over and watched some videos and I don't see anywhere where it specifically states that if it is an attacker you call it this way and if it is a defender you call it that way. Please help and thank you....

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 1/19/2021

RE: Competitive Adult

Peter Babbage of Hjorring, Denmark asks...

There was an instance at the weekend where half a players body was in the area and half not. So a penalty was given. So I’m a little confused here. On that basis say a player like Peter Crouch was leaning right forward for a header but was fouled with say only his head in the box , is this still a penalty then?...

Read The Full Q & A

High School 1/12/2021

RE: High School

David Lovett of Royal Palm Beach, FL United States asks...

I was watching a game and saw an offside call that made me want to ask this question. I try to keep up with the laws of the game to make it more enjoyable to watch. There was a player in an offside position. His teammate passes the ball in his direction. The referee applied the wait and see so he could see if either another teammate not in an offside position gets to the ball or a defender deliberately plays the ball and resets the offside. Neither of those happened and the original player that was in the offside position ends up playing the ball. My question is where is the restart? Is it where the player touched the ball therefore being involved in the play or is it from where the player was originally in the offside position since he gai...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 1/5/2021

RE: High school/competitive High School

Devery H. of Naples, Florida United States asks...

Situation 1:
I had a game tonight where looking back I wondered if I did the right thing. A defender and an attacker were shoulder to shoulder, top of the area, running toward the goal line. The defender kicked the ball and a millisecond later the attacker fouled her. Enough to make her fall. The ball rolled past the goal line for a corner. So that’s what I called. She was fouled. I told her as much. But I also told her she kicked the ball out first and then was fouled. In that situation, unless the foul was reckless or excessive, was it correct to give the corner kick? Or should I have given the foul?

Situation 2: a couple of weeks ago I had a similar situation. This time an attacker was in the penalty area. He made a sh...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 17 - The Corner Kick 1/4/2021

RE: Rec Adult

Russell of Sydeny, Australia asks...

I have never seen this before.

In the recent Chelsea v Man City EPL match, Timo Werner took a corner kick in the dying minutes of the match.
He seemed to clip his own foot against the corner flag - I think after he kicked the ball in to play (a short pass for a team mate only a few meters away).
Werner went down injured, and Ref Taylor appropriately stopped play.

Would have thought the restart would be a drop ball to Chelsea, however, the restart was a retake of the corner kick.

Very odd.

There was no replay of the incident shown to be able to confirm if he kicked the corner post before or after the ball was put into play. (Initially, I thought after, but logic suggest it was before - an...

Read The Full Q & A

AskTheref.com Educating and Amusing The Soccer Referee Since October 11, 1999

Soccer Referee Extras
Wednesday, January 27, 2021

Recent Questions



Click Go to view all recently posted questions

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer