Law 1 Field of Play
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000


Panel Login

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
Question 1 thru 10 of 6653

[Next]

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 1/19/2021

Peter Babbage of Hjorring, Denmark asks...

There was an instance at the weekend where half a players body was in the area and half not. So a penalty was given. So I’m a little confused here. On that basis say a player like Peter Crouch was leaning right forward for a header but was fouled wit...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 1/5/2021

Devery H. of Naples, Florida United States asks...

Situation 1:
I had a game tonight where looking back I wondered if I did the right thing. A defender and an attacker were shoulder to shoulder, top of the area, running toward the goal line. The defender kicked the ball and a millisecond later ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 12/16/2020

Steve Debus of Crofton, MD USA asks...

Regarding the Brighton/Southampton match I have two questions about the PK call in the 77th minute. https://www.youtube.com/watch?t=455&v=ygN9-Bdl72E&feature=youtu.be

First Law 12 clearly states that if a hold is started outside the PA but...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 12/16/2020

Petr of Prague, Czech Republic Czech Republic asks...

Hello!

'New' advantage rule:

Part 1: If the referee plays the advantage for an offence for which a caution/ sending-off would have been issued had play been stopped, this caution/ sending-off must be issued when the ball is next...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 12/9/2020

Peter Barry of Leicester, Leicestershire United Kingdom asks...

The attacking player is dribbling at speed toward goal and kicks the ball past the defender who is facing him. The attacking player runs in to the defender and falls to the ground losing possession. The defending player is also knocked over. At the m...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 12/5/2020

Alex Dormer of Lexington , Kentucky usa asks...

If a goalkeeper/player had to touch the ball twice from a goalkick or a freekick to prevent opponent from scoring whats awarded(if inside and outside penalty area)and can they be sent off for denying a clear scoring opportunity?...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 12/2/2020

JasonC of Lacrosse, WI USA asks...

Did you guys catch the Sounders-FC Dallas game yesterday? I can't find a clip of this incident, but there was a foul called on a challenge by Santos of Dallas. The challenge brought a caution as well. Just after this challenge, perhaps just before or...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 12/1/2020

John of Patras, Greece asks...

I am wondering if the following case is a penalty: The defender touches the ball deliberately (with his hand raised in the air) outside the box, but one of his legs is stretched and touches the inside area of the box. ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/22/2020

Douglas Wix of Liverpool, Merseyside United Kingdom asks...

I read the story of the MLS goalkeeper being sent off for a 2nd yellow card for encroachment on a penalty kick,having already received a yellow for time wasting. I have never heard of this happening before,so why wasn't Sam Johnstone o104277f WBA giv...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/17/2020

Doug of Folsom, CA US asks...

"Hip Check"? - On the first foul here at 5 min (https://youtu.be/yOy0UuZP6SY?t=298) w replay about 6:45, isn't this a hip check, not shoulder to shoulder? It was also a trip after the hip check, which may be the more important foul.
I saw a r...

Read The Full Q & A

[Next]

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.