Law 1 Field of Play
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Law 18 - Common Sense
Question 11 thru 20 of 212

[Previous] [Next]

Law 18 - Common Sense 4/21/2020

brett of hattiesburg, ms usa asks...

what about a player who is fouled but stays up, you may give advantage to, but then quickly passes to player in offside position and AR signals offside? Without having given the advantage signal yet, you would just go back and give the foul even with...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 18 - Common Sense 2/4/2020

Dan Paolini of Eastampton, New Jersey United States asks...

I have seen people misinterpret this statement in the Outline Summary of Law Changes for Law 14 on page 151 (en):

The goalkeeper must not be touching the goalposts/crossbar/nets; they must not be moving.

as meaning that the goalkee...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 18 - Common Sense 1/28/2020

Matt of Bristow, VA 20136 asks...

With reference to a defender bumping and attacker which causes the attacker to contact the ball with their hand/arm and the ball winds up being headed into the goal by a waiting teammate. The panel seems to be in favor of either calling the penalty ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 18 - Common Sense 12/26/2019

Karl Robinson of coleraine, LONDONDERRY United Kingdom asks...

Quick question. I was reffing a game a few weeks ago, and the blue team were attacking in the red teams box, and the blue team ends up scoring a goal.

However, I only realised after the goal was socred and at the protest of the red coaches t...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 18 - Common Sense 10/11/2019

Jirka­ Strmiska of Brno, Czechia asks...


I thought so, the problem is that when the defender plants his foot in front of the ball, he stands on it with a lot of weight with no further movement intended. It's like kicking into a steel wall. (the defender is also in all kinds...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 18 - Common Sense 9/26/2019

Susan Wiczynski of La Jolla, California United States asks...

The LOTG does not specifically address hair accessories (other than 'jewellery'). Are hair bows allowed? Things with knots? I'm sure metal and hard plastic are not. I am starting a company supplying matching hair ornaments for girls' athletic teams ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 18 - Common Sense 9/20/2019

Gregor Gramlich of LARGO, FL United States asks...

Last year, in a boys game (approx U15-U16), two boys went up for a header and there was head-to-head contact. I did not call a foul. I felt that both boys were challenging fairly for the ball. Both went down after the play,and I blew the whistle t...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 18 - Common Sense 9/17/2019

james henry okwiri of nairobi, Kenya Kenya asks...

Upon a corner kick, a keeper collides with a strike simultaneously however the striker during contact heads the ball out of play. Should the referee award a penalty . ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 18 - Common Sense 9/1/2019

Russell of Sydney, Australia asks...

While in agreement with the general thoughts of the panel regarding if the pass was intended for the keeper - if not intended, then wave it off as not an issue " should we acknowledge the wording from George (of PARANGARECUTIRIMICUARO " such a uniqu...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 18 - Common Sense 8/8/2019

almarosa moreno of monrovia, ca usa asks...

1. Not considering the special case of a penalty, can you give 3 times that a free kick is taken from the a spot other than where the offense occurred?

2. Assitant referee should normally be positioned on the offside line ( second to last de...

Read The Full Q & A

[Previous] [Next]

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.