- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 29773Law 11 - Offside 10/3/2015RE: Pro Professional Eddie of newark, NJ USA asks...Can you please explain the new offside rule regarding deflection of a defender. Example A1 in a offside position receives the ball from A2 but it was deflected from B1 would you call him off sides. Please let me know where I can get some training with the new offside rules. Thank You Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh Hi Eddie Law 11 has not changed. What has changed recently is the interpretation of *Interfering with an opponent*. The clarification states that in addition to the situations already outlined in the Laws of the Game, a player in an offside position shall also be penalised if he: # clearly attempts to play a ball which is close to him when this action impacts on an opponent or # makes an obvious action which clearly impacts on the ability of an opponent to play the ball. So in your example there has been no change as the ball deflecting of an opponent does not reset offside. As regards training material on updates that is being worked on. There are unofficial sources on the web which are helpful. Some have not been updated as yet but nonetheless give an understanding of the principle http://www.law-11.com https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DCyP92TVWSQ
Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh
View Referee Joe McHugh profileAnswer provided by Referee Richard Dawson Hi Eddie, the recent rewrite of LAW 11 LOTG Offside had created some interesting conundrums in the minds of many. Then, to help explain these wording changes a circular was produced to define the explanations as additional instructions. There was no change to a deflection, if ITOOTR it is a deflection it DOES NOT reset offside. A deflection is NOT considered as a deliberate play, a deliberate play by an opponent will RESET offside a ...Deflection... rebound will not reset offside! It still is ITOOTR if the player's attempt to play the ball was a deliberate action made with intent and knowledge or an instinctive reactionary or unaware occurrence to a fast moving ball where the ball IMPACTS the player rather than the player impacts the ball. What complicated one's understanding was the inclusion of a deliberate save, which is a legal deliberate playing action, preventing a ball from entering the goal! This action can be made by ANY player, including the keeper, and it is VIEWED the SAME as a deflection/rebound as it WILL NOT reset offside. The same action ELSEWHERE on the field might very well reset offside! The one sticking point was IF the action was not legal, but a deliberately handled ball. Given it was not a legal save, that did not reset offside, it IS most definitely, a deliberate play, otherwise it is not considered as a foul! So IF advantage was applied, could a former PIOP be permitted to play that ball into the goal? So far there is differing thoughts, but in my efforts to define it to, yes it does reset or no it does not reset, by accessing those who make up the FIFA referee committee and the IFAB review committee, my information is ...YES.. a DH (foul of handles the ball deliberately) ...DOES... reset offside as long as the PIOP had NOT already impacted play. This is my opinion as of now and one I am comfortable as passing along as correct in law! Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 29773
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
<>
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>
|