Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 30070

Law 15 - Throw In 2/2/2016

RE: All youth competitive age groups Under 15

Keith of Lake Worth, Florida United States asks...

If a player attempts a throw-in using bad mechanics (such as lifting a foot) but the ball never enters the field of play, is the player allowed to re-take the throw-in, or does the ball go to the opposing team? My thought is the player is allowed a re-take since the ball was never put back in play.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Keith
The Laws says otherwise. It is only a retake if the throw in is taken correctly in line with the procedure. If it is not taken correctly such as a raised foot it is a turnover of the throw in even if it does not enter the field of play.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

This was changed several years ago. It didn't appear in the Laws of the Game proper, but either in the Interpretation and Guidelines section or one of the last editions of the old Q&A document. Since USSF doesn't publish those for referees, you many have missed it.

It can be found on page 136 of the 2015-16 version of the Laws, I&G Section:
If the ball touches the ground before entering the field of play, the throw-in is retaken by the same team from the same position provided that it was taken in line with the correct procedure. If the throw-in is not taken in line with the correct procedure, it is retaken by the opposing team.

Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Keith,
if the throw in is performed incorrectly it is turned over to the opposing team.
FIFA LOTG has this additional trailer attached that states if it WAS done correctly but never entered then they can retake.
USA high school rules makes no such exception. You mess up the other guys get it!

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30070
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - Throw In

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.