Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 30117

Law 15 - Throw In 2/16/2016

RE: Select Under 12

Jim of Bellevue, WA USA asks...

This question is a follow up to question 29067

On the throw in the thrower steps entirely onto the field(over the line). What is the proper restart for the other team?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Jim
If a throw in has been taken incorrectly the restart is a throw in to the opponents from the same location.
Now some believe incorrectly that any part of the foot cannot be over the line. Not so. As long as part of the foot / feet are touching the line say the heels that is legal.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Jim,
if the foot is completely inside the FOP, no part of it remains on the touchline, then technically it is a loss of possession and the throw in is awarded to the opposition from the same location for being performed incorrectly.
Some believe if it is not blatant, it is trifling and ignored if say the opposition benefited. If it clearly allows for an advantageous restart by the thrower it is not trifling in my opinion. Some believe we correct it before the throw as a reminder in youth. Intervention by the neutral referee does carry risk be sure the association has a policy and its actions are age level appropriate. I was AR in a youth match tournament helping out while the team I coached was on a break. The throw in performed by the over eager midfielder who quickly ran several yards from the spot and was a yard inside inside the FOP with both feet upon release. It started a promising attack. I popped flag, match referee berated me as it was their POLICY to consider incorrectly taken throw in restarts as trifling.

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30117
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - Throw In

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.