Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000


Panel Login

Question Number: 33997

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/22/2020

RE: Adult

Demetris of Limassol, Cyprus asks...

Hello there,I like to know your opinion if it was a faul or not on the goalkeeper at 1.20 (Anorthosis v Apollon 1-3 for the Cyprus league dated Sep20) .The goalkeeper seems to hold or touch the ball momentarily with one hand before(or at the same time) his opponent kicks the ball to score.Ref video: https://youtu.be/LpXcd4KU4vs

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Demetris,
TECHNICALLY a keeper with ball possession is NOT permitted to be challenged. The LOTG do state the keeper is IN possession of the ball if said ball is trapped between the ground and the hand. It was a difficult decision because that hand hover and kick arrived at about the same time. So in real time chances are that goal will count! There was not too much protest that I could see from the keeper so I feel even he did not really think he had that ball under control possession. It would not be impossible though to have a different referee with a view from that very last perspective decide otherwise! I am satisfied the goal was good and the keeper a shade late to the party. Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Demetris
That is just too difficult a call in real time.
I have looked at it multiple times with freeze frame and I cannot say with any certainty that the ball was kicked out of his control. The goalkeeper certainly has his hand on the ball for a fleeting moment and does the attacker kick it while in that position or does the goalkeeper move / adjust his hand just before the kick.
In real time given the goalkeepers body position, hand movement etc it will look like a rebound off a save which makes the goal good.
It is certainly not an obvious error by the referee and as an observer I would have no real problem with the award of the goal. It could not be seen either as playing in a dangerous manner as the attacker cleanly kicks the ball with no contact on the goalkeeper or danger to him.




Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Demetris,
This is no foul for me. In realtime this appears to be simultaneous contact on the ball between keeper and attacker. Slowing it down there's about 4 frames difference, but it would likely have looked simultaneous in realtime (if the ref could even tell the keeper's hand was on the ball).
I don't believe the intent of the law is to prevent simultaneous contact like this. I think if it's clear to the referee that the keeper had it first then that's a different matter - if the attacker's foot came in, say, two-tenths of a second later then the time delay may have been clear.
Or perhaps by then the ball would have slipped away from the keeper's hand and been free! That possibility is part of the reason why I don't believe the law was ever intended to prevent a simultaneous challenge.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33997
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




VAR (Video Assistant Referee) Questions?


Learn about VAR (Video Assistant Referee)



This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.