Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000


Panel Login

Question Number: 34295

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 8/12/2021

RE: Pro Adult

Crebs Crem of Zagreb, Croatia asks...

Hello,

I wish to ask what would be the correct restart in such a scenario:

Red team is preparing to take a corner kick. Just before the corner kick is taken, red team player hits blue team player in blue team's penalty area but the referee misses the event. Then, another red team player tries a header but sends the ball out for a goal kick. After that, VAR warns the referee that there might be a possible red card since the red team player hit his/her opponent. The referee starts a review and then shows his/her red card to the red team player. At this point, what should the the correct restart, given that the violent conduct happens just before the corner kick is taken?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Crebs
As the misconduct happened before the corner kick the only possible restart is a goal kick to the Blue team after the Red player is dismissed for violent conduct.

Clearly if the VC happened after the corner kick was taken the restart would be a free kick to the Blue team from where the offence took place.

Also where play has been allowed to restart the referee cannot go back to the previous restart.
Any misconduct which happens while the ball is out of play does not change the restart.




Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi, Creb,
we discussed this from several of what-if scenarios as well a what you asked.
The RED team has a player who uses violent conduct or cautionable action against the blue defender BEFORE red takes their corner kick.
We all agree this is MISCONDUCT and does NOT alter or change the restart.
Given RED does not score but puts the ball out of play into touch beyond the goal line a Goal kick restart is perfectly in accordance with the LOTG.
The red player is identified & either cautioned shown yellow or shown red sent off and his team reduced by a player depending on the nature of the misconduct.

What we discussed was
WHAT if red scored?
WHAT If the ball had stayed in play? If the ball was headed into crossbar or post rebounds back into the FOP?
WHAT if BLUE had been the aggressor not red?

Red scoring: if red was the aggressor we would disallow goal caution or send-off as the incident demanded, restart corner as the timing information was AR flag to CR just a bit late!
Red scoring " If blue was the aggressor we allow goal possibly ignore the incident other than to have a word if only cautionable but if VC, a red card send-off incident then doubtful it could be
Who was the aggressor?
The ball stays in play. AR keeps flag aloft thinking to head off retaliation as opposed to waiting for a natural stoppage to relay information.
CR stops play for the raised flag.
AR-related incident..
The CR then has two options.
The first option deal with the misconduct as required, drop the ball to the team with ball possession unless the ball was within a PA (penalty area) in which case the keeper gets the drop ball.
Second option deal with the misconduct as required, award an INDFK in favor of the team who did NOT commit the pre-restart shenanigans misconduct from where the ball was at the time of the stoppage subject to the special circumstances of the goal area. The INDFK for the stoppage wound up for being just showing the card.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 34295
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 34304

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef



This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.