Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 34344

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/21/2021

RE: Adult

Har Rymam of Athens, Non-US Greece asks...

This question is a follow up to question 34341


Thank you both for your replies.

I clearly disagree with you there was a penalty preceding the offensive foul for case #3.
#6 of yellow instantly holds and releases the goal scorer, but clearly outside the penalty box. So if this was an offense then it was a foul, not a penalty. Since it was a momentarily holding and the attacker did not by any way lose momentum (he actually scored) I believe it was nothing. However the foul of #17 in white on #4 in yellow is as clear as crystal and the goal should not have been allowed.

That is my humble oppinon

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Har,
Its fine to disagree but remember the referee was right there looking so I will hazard a guess he deemed the actions as occuring prior to the ball in play? I never said a PK or a free kick only that the two actions could have been ignored? I will agree with you though the push from behind seemed to have an impact of sorts and if it was judged as a foul, NOT misconduct, then a free kick out could be correct! If anything the 1st push off assisted the goal scorer as it caused seperation. It was outside the PA in the D section as they joustled for position. lol

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

On reflection and further viewing you are correct. I suggested the PK and I erroneously paid too much attention to the view with the red circle. It looks outside of the penalty area based on the first short clip yet it was a clear foul and every much a foul as the second one. It did as you say not have the desired impact on subsequent play and perhaps the opinion can be made about the second foul as well. It highlights the actions of both teams being engaged in all sorts of pushing, barging, blocking and as they say what goes around comes around.
In my opinion if there is a foul called here it has to be the first one and as advantage cannot be played it will be based on the second foul. The referee would be wrong to give a free kick to the defending team here based on what transpired. If he rules out the goal for an offence it is an attacking free kick on the edge of the penalty area.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 34344
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.