Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login
[Next]

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/11/2019

sal of chicago, IL USA asks...

So team BLUE is on a breakaway with 4 players against RED defender #2 and his goalie. RED defender #2 seeing that he was outnumbered steps past the goal line and out of the FOP, about 5 yards from the goal post,for about 2 seconds and frantically tri...

Read The Full Q & A

High School 11/11/2019

Brian of New York, New York US asks...

Just watched a video of an overtime goal to win a championship. The ball was delivered to a spot about 2-3 feet in front of the goal. The keeper leaped up to catch the ball, and at the same time an opposing player also leaped to head the ball. Frankl...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/9/2019

Jesse from of Wallumbilla, Queensland Australia asks...

During a professional game, the play is in mid field, a ball has been kicked and comes off a players head, and gone straight up into the air, maybe 10-15 m. That player is standing waiting for it to come down.

An opposition player is runnin...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 11/9/2019

George of Parangarecutirimicuaro , Ca Sacratomato asks...

Big debate amongst colleagues... on a penalty kick in the middle of the game, goalie blocks a PK, can the attacker score on the second touch? I am being told no but I can't find anything in the rule book that says play is over as soon as goalie block...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/8/2019

David Rosenblatt of Encino, California United States asks...

A Blue Team player has a breakaway, with only the Red Team goalkeeper between the Blue Team player and the goal. Suddenly a Red Team substitute runs onto the field and makes a careless tackle from behind, bringing down the Blue Team player before he...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/8/2019

Terri D of Oakton, VA USA asks...

Hello,
Are there any rules on goalie hindrance during corner kicks?
I started noticing in my kid's games and on TV, opposing players will try to block/pen the goalie in during corner kicks to impede their vision and/or movement. Is this all...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 5 - The Referee 11/7/2019

bruce of phoenix, az USA asks...

i had a situation this past weekend where two teams had played each other and one player broke his arm in the match, reportedly on purpose by an opponent (throwing him to the ground or something). the broken arm player was playing angry all match and...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/7/2019

ynon of haifa, haifa israel asks...

Hello,

I want to ask a question about the new 2020 law for non deliberate handball.
Player A who is in the defending team, gets the ball in the middle of field by his hand, but non deliberate handball. Player A immediately becomes an att...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/6/2019

Larry of Danville, CA USA asks...

I'm having a hard time understanding this one. As ref Jason Wright states 'we tend to allow the pre-emptive protection in a wall being a necessary part of a FK'. I agree with that, but why would we see the same general scenario differently in general...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/6/2019

J R WILLIAMS of Barry, United Kingdom asks...

If the ref sees an accidental hand ball in the build up to a goal, but let's the goal stand, would VAR still then overrule it?

If VAR would overrule, doesn't this mean all accidental handballs should be given, as they could all, in theory, l...

Read The Full Q & A

[Next]

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.