Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login
[Previous] [Next]

Law 8 - The Start and Restart of Play 10/31/2018

Steve M. Marquez of La Mirada, California United States asks...

I have been trying to find the reference for this problem/interpretation

In specifically a corner kick but it really applies to all IDFKs.

To restart play the ball must be KICKED AND MOVED. Does the action of stepping on the ball a...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 10/30/2018

Russell of Sydney, Australia asks...

Another follow-up on Ref of Syd question (DOGSO on an IDFK), as I am thinking of a variation on his original scenario.

What if the IDFK was taken from the top corner of the PA and angled towards the far post. Ball looks like it will be going...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 10/29/2018

Ref of Sydney, Nsw Aus asks...

So saying it was deliberate and is the second touch.

Keith Hackett and Mark Hasley say different to your thoughts.

I'm thinking along your lines.


Keith Hacket Tweet
Tim - here is why it is a red card and penalty...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 10/29/2018

Peter of Stockton, CA United States asks...

Hi

I was looking at a CNRA webinar on handling the ball:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vdU7MumHV-k

The webinar goes into handling the ball and is indeed quite interesting. The item that I have a concern with occurs at abo...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 10/29/2018

Mika Lehtonen of Helsinki, Finland asks...

Man Utd was awarded a penalty when Martial brought down by the defender. Decision was controversal as others thought that the tackle was clean and others saw Martial dive.


https://twitter.com/Tony_Scott11/status/1056583824467996672
...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 13 - Free Kicks 10/28/2018

Mark Suehrstedt of West Covina, Ca Usa asks...

Why dont fifa referees call failure to yield the distance?...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 10/28/2018

Keith T of Las Vegas, NV USA asks...

I called impeding without contact this weekend with an IDFK that went into the goal with no double touch so GK restart. Though my hand was up, everyone assumed DFK and so were furious I didnt award the goal. The coach said things like "but it was a ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 15 - The Throw In 10/28/2018

Phil of Tarzana, CA United States asks...

It would seem to me that if the ball slipped out of a player's hands, you'd first have to determine whether it was during the 'throw-in'. I can see calling it a retake or change of possession (depending on whether the mechanics were correct or not),...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 7 - The Duration of the Match 10/28/2018

greg of madison, wi usa asks...

sometimes teams are late getting back from halftime. this especially happens in tournaments where there is a strict 5 minute halftime and delays will lead to future games backing up.

i dont want to be a pest to teams about it, but there are ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 10/28/2018

Rob fuller of Manchester , Manchester England asks...

If you go to take a penalty but swing and miss bit you dont actually kick the ball
What happens ?...

Read The Full Q & A

[Previous] [Next]

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.