Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login
[Previous] [Next]

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/11/2009

Mike of Louisville, KY USA asks...

I just read the 'impeding' discussion in another question, and it raised a new question for me.

Often in highly-competitive contests, the ball will be traveling to the GK who will be at his 18 waiting for it. The ball will be pursued by an a...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 6 - Assistant Referee 3/11/2009

Richard Marvin of Sheffield, South Yorkshire England asks...

During a recent Premier League match, my other half asked me why assistant Referees have two different coloured flags i.e one is plain and the other is Quarters. For all of my football knowledge i just could'nt answer this question and it is really s...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 3/11/2009

Gevin Gregory of Woodburn, OR USA asks...

How come this gets called wrong so often. I mean we are talking the tangent of the ball needs to be outside of the outer tangent of the line correct (as opposed to just where the ball touches the ground). It seems that even professional soccer they w...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 14 - Penalty kick 3/10/2009

Anonymous of Somewhere, One of Them United States asks...

OK. Im keeping names out of the email because Im embarrassed that I got this wrong as an AR, and Im sure my Center is likewise embarrassed.

A word about the Center: he is a USSF grade 6 State Referee for whom I have the utmost respect. I'm...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/10/2009

Steve of London, UK asks...

I volunteer ref for my son's club from time to time. In my last game I made a call that I believe is right and certainly within what I think is the spirit of the relevant law, but not sure if it was.

It concerns a back pass to the 'keeper.
Read The Full Q & A

Kicks From The Penalty mark 3/10/2009

Sheri McGovern of Coquitlam, b.c. Canada asks...

After two 10 minute overtime halfs my daughters team was tied and it went to a shoot out (cup play). The apposing team took their shot and it was saved by our keeper. The ref called the shot back because he never blew the whistle to singnal the pla...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 15 - Throw In 3/10/2009

Joe of , UK asks...

THROW IN QUESTION

I was watching a match from a couple of years back (2006/2007). It was an English Premier League match. One player was standing quite close to the opposition player throwing the ball in - in an attempt to put him off. I hea...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/9/2009

Christopher Lloyd of Novato, CA USA asks...

Again more a rant than a question.

I was a parent on the sidelines at my daughters U14 game this weekend. She'd broken clear on her own and was inside the Penalty Area. The keeper, the last player, dived at my daughter, made no attempt to ge...

Read The Full Q & A

Kicks From The Penalty mark 3/9/2009

Rob Andrews of Bristol, United Kingdom asks...

I have always wondered:

In a penalty shoot out there are no rebounds, so if a penalty comes back off the post (normally a miss), but then hits the body of the goalkeeper who dived in front of it, and goes in, does the goal stand?

I ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/8/2009

Rob Johnson of Folsom, CA United States asks...

During a tournament game, our player kicked the ball to the opposing goalie, who was outside the 18-yard box. The goalie dribbled the ball back into the 18-yard box and picked the ball up. In effect, she passed the ball to herself and then handled it...

Read The Full Q & A

[Previous] [Next]

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.