Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login
[Next]

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 4/20/2017

Gerhard of La Jolla, CA USA asks...

If the keeper slides to catch a ball close to the line of the penalty box, but is slide takes part of his body - lets say the feet and legs - past the line to the outside of the box, does that count as a 'handball'?...

Read The Full Q & A

Other 4/11/2017

steve brown of orillia, ontario canada asks...

I HAVE TRIED DIFFERENT WAYS IN KEEPING MY BOOK DRY. WE OFTEN REF IN WEATHER THAT IS POURING RAIN, BLOWING RAIN ETC AND I FIND IT DIFFICULT TO KEEP MY BOOK DRY. I HAVE EVEN RESORTED TO HAVING ONE OF MY AR'S KEEP THE SCORE BECAUSE MY GAME SHEET BECAME ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 13 - Free Kicks 4/7/2017

Aaron Speca of Virginia Beach, VA United States asks...

This is a weird one I still can't figure out. This is a DFK restart for blue, and for some reason I can't detect there's a violation that results in an IFK for white from the same spot.

The only thing I can figure is that the wind had cause...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 17 - The Corner Kick 4/6/2017

Mark of Harlow, Essex U.K. asks...

Player slips taking a corner, handles ball. This happen in premier league yesterday. Does the ref give handball and direct free kick or should he give indirect free kick for touching it twice...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 4/6/2017

Aaron Speca of Virginia Beach, VA United States asks...

These two plays were the center of some discussion among the parents at our out-of-state soccer match this past weekend.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jsd-lM5pYgo

The first play was called a foul (DFK just outside the box) and the...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 4/4/2017

Dave Bermingham of Herndon, Virginia United States asks...

In watching a professional match I saw something I'd never seen before.
A Blue defender went down injured in his Penalty Area during a Red corner kick. Blue cleared the ball to the center circle where Red gained uncontested possession as the R...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 4/3/2017

Aaron Speca of Virginia Beach, VA 23456 asks...

What do we think of this play?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-mNr8TwdLNg

Player in black did sustain a head injury when her head hit the turf, which is one reason I raise this due to the concern over head injuries and the fact tha...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 4/3/2017

TD Ward of Portland, Oregon United States asks...

If the goalkeeper's hands are in contact with the ball, AND his/her hands are outside of the penalty area, even though part of the ball remains inside the penalty area, is the goalkeeper handling the ball illegally?
...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 4/2/2017

russell of Sydney, Australia asks...

Penalty ot not.

http://theworldgame.sbs.com.au/article/2017/04/02/schalke-mascot-shows-referee-red-card-over-penalty-decision

On field decision was no penalty.

Based on angles shown - and knowing the design before seeing th...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 11 - Offside 4/1/2017

Tony of Whitehorse, Yukon Canada asks...

Is it an offside offence 'if a player receives the ball directly from a teammate during the taking of a drop ball assuming the drop ball was taken correctly and the player receiving the ball was in an offside position?'...

Read The Full Q & A

[Next]

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.