Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login
[Previous] [Next]

Law 4 - The Players Equipment 7/14/2019

Hussain Jan Gramkani of Muscat, Oman asks...

If a player wearing white socks and black shorts. He has a long underwear which is white color and it ends in socks under shinguard. So the white sequence starts from ankle to shorts then black shorts. Is it allowed??...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 4 - The Players Equipment 7/14/2019

Hussain Jan Gramkani of Muscat, Oman asks...

Can a goalkeeper wear same color socks that his teammates wearing? I read 'fifa equipment regulations book' it was mentioned that goalkeeper's playing equipment must be distinguished. Is there any paragraph specific for socks...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 18 - Common Sense 7/13/2019

Jack of Castle Rock, CO USA asks...

Complicated one:
Ball is kicked from midfield by an offensive player to an opponent's goalkeeper. The keeper controls the ball with his feet from within the penalty area (he never uses his hands). He then dribbles outside the area, feels pressure...

Read The Full Q & A

Kicks From The Penalty mark 7/11/2019

RUPAK RAI of Darjeeling, West Bengal INDIA asks...

It was the last shot of 5-5 penalty shootout. If the last shot is in the second team wins but the shot was taken before the whistle was blown and it was away from the goal post ie no goal..In this circumstances what should be the right decision? Pena...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 7/9/2019

Larry of Danville, CA US asks...

Here is my other question in regards to the new handling rule.

The Law states: 'If the goalkeeper attempts to clear (release into play) a throw-in or deliberate kick from a team-mate but the clearance fails, the goalkeeper can then handle th...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 7/9/2019

Larry of Danville, CA US asks...

Two questions on the new change to Law 12 in regards to handling. I'll send them in two separate posts.

Even if accidental, it is now an offense if 'a player gains control/possession of the ball after it has touched their hand/arm and then s...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 7/9/2019

Russell of Sydney, Australia asks...

'usually' v 'not usually' !!

As Ref Grove mention's " some of the new wording is still open for debate on DHB.

The LOTG seem to make contradictions (or at least counter arguments) when the they state within the 'It is usually an off...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 7/7/2019

Refjak of Malindi, Kenya Kenya asks...

Hi!
An attacker kicked within the penalty area kicked the ball in an attempt to score but the ball went onto contact with the hand of an opponent who was approaching this attacker attacker at a very high speed to contest for the ball; about 2m aw...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 11 - Offside 7/3/2019

Jennifer Ferguson of Rineyville, Ky United States asks...

After watching the women's World Cup game of the USA team versus England, my family had this question.
During one play the England team was called offsides. But before the play was stopped there was a collision in the box. The ref went to VAR to ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 11 - Offside 7/3/2019

Bevan Burgess of Ipswich, Suffolk UK asks...

Regarding VAR and offside. How do the VAR operators chose which TV frame to choose for measuring whether a player is offside or not? I understand that it should be when the player kicking the ball first touches the ball, but do they have the resoluti...

Read The Full Q & A

[Previous] [Next]

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.