Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login
[Previous] [Next]

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 6/10/2018

Nilesh Lal of Suva, Fiji Fiji asks...

Is it true that goalkeepers are protected in the 6 yard box? The play unfolded as follows. A cross was made into the goal area by the attacking team by player A. Player B of the attacking team went in to head in the ball, the goalkeeper came out to c...

Read The Full Q & A

Kicks From The Penalty mark 6/10/2018

Dennis Patterson of Louisville, OHIO United States asks...

Our championship game ended with a tie. We do pks to decide winner. Apparently our goalie moved before the ball was in play. There was an AR who raised the flag
Then put it down. The goalies changed. Our player was ready, the ball was set. Then t...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 6/9/2018

Salvador Flores of Indianapolis, IN United States asks...

If an attacker dribbles right past a defender, and fouls the attacker just outside the penalty box in the left side and there is another defender on the other side of the corner flag where the AR is at. So it's two defenders in their third defending ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 6/8/2018

William Giannattasio of Lancaster, MA US asks...

At this age, if a player feels the need to protect their chest by crossing their arms, would that still be considered a hand ball or would that be a discretionary call from the referee?

Thanks in advance!...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 1- The Field 6/8/2018

Frank of Idaho Falls, Idaho USA asks...

We have 3 coaches on the roster, all are present at all games. We were told at a game that only ONE coach can be instructing players on the field, per the FIFA rules. We've read through them and can't find any mention of this... is this a rule? Or in...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 6/2/2018

Lee Cooper of Wainwright, Alberta Cansda asks...

An outfield player takes a goal kick.
He passes the ball to his goalkeeper who has run to just outside the 18 yard box, parallel with the 6 yard box.
The goalkeeper controls the ball with his feet outside the 18 yard box taps it back inside ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 8 - The Start and Restart of Play 6/1/2018

Russell of Sydney, Australia asks...

Following on this thread ...so if a player at a DB does dribble and score without the second person touch - what and where is the restart.

Is it IDFK on the goal area line in a location related to where the ball entered the goal ?

...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 8 - The Start and Restart of Play 5/30/2018

Raymond of SAN FRANCISCO, CA United States asks...

Thank you for clarifying, gentlemen, and my bad for working off an old version of the LOTG! (Memo to self--before bothering the committee, go to IFAB and read carefully the latest edition, looking in particular at underlined segments of the laws ;-)!...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 8 - The Start and Restart of Play 5/29/2018

Raymond of SAN FRANCISCO, CA United States asks...

Hi gentlemen. I've got a question about dropped balls. The way I understand Law 8, dropped balls are unique in being the only restart where the player who makes first contact with the ball can make additional touches before anyone else plays the ball...

Read The Full Q & A

5/28/2018

Mitch of Ottawa, Ontario Canada asks...

After a drop ball, the ball rolls into net after no one touched it.

What is the restart?

I'd say it's a retake....

Read The Full Q & A

[Previous] [Next]

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.