Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 10587

Law 15 - Throw In 12/13/2005

leor of myrtle beach, sc united states asks...

can you score a goal when you throw it in from the outside

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer 12/13/2005

The following are the first two sentences of Law 15 - The Throw-In Leor: ..A throw-in is a method of restarting play. A goal cannot be scored directly from a throw-in. ..Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino 12/13/2005

Nope. Contrary with Law 15. A keeper may throw the ball directly into either net and it would count. Have to be quite a throw into opponents



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Krijvenaar 12/14/2005

Hi, A throw in is like a in-direct free kick, at least two people should have touched the ball before its a goal....have fun..jeroen



Read other questions answered by Referee Krijvenaar

View Referee Krijvenaar profile

Answer provided by Referee Hoelscher 12/14/2005

No. A goal cannot be scored directly from a throw-in.



Read other questions answered by Referee Hoelscher

View Referee Hoelscher profile

Answer provided by Referee Dawson 12/14/2005

Hi leor, .as the law clearly states if we are talking law 15 throwins, no DIRECT route with the ball from the hands of the thrower into the goal. .As Krijvenaar notes it requires another player's touch FROM either team including the keepers TO legally enter INTO the goal. This IS the same principle AS an INDFK. .ANY ball DIRECTLY throw-IN TO the goal (under the crossbar AND BETWEEN the posts) FOR the opponent it becames a goal kick FOR your own goal it becomes a corner kick. .AS Ref Contarino suggests during live play it IS possinle, although unlikely, a keeper could actually throw the ball the lentgh OF the FOP FROM one 18 yard PA TO another AND score upon the oponnents if he had great arm strength AND a lot OF luck..Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Dawson

View Referee Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 10587
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - Throw In

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.