Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 12023

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 1/3/2006

RE: interleague Under 12

kevin foley of mount sinai, ny usa asks...

When the defending team is called for handling the ball in the penalty area it is always a penalty kick to attacking team, correct? When the handling is called outside the penalty area, is it correct the restart should always be a Direct Free Kick to the attacking team, and not an Indirect? Lost a game this way, and after rereading TLOG believe I am correct, referee thought otherwise.

Answer provided by Referee Victor Matheson

You are correct. The restart following handling is always a direct free-kick or a penalty kick if the handling occurred by the defense inside the penalty area.

Read other questions answered by Referee Victor Matheson

View Referee Victor Matheson profile

Answer provided by Referee Debbie Hoelscher

You are correct that handling the ball is a direct free kick unless it is done by a member of the opposing team in their own penalty area by someone other than the goal keeper. It is then a Penalty Kick. If an IFK was given outside the Penalty Area, it was either: 1) a mistake; or 2) not a handling the ball foul as may have been supposed, but some other foul/infraction that had an IFK restart. (Impeding progress, dangerous play, etc.) It is good to see that you checked the LOTG. Great stuff.

Read other questions answered by Referee Debbie Hoelscher

View Referee Debbie Hoelscher profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Unfortunately, this is a common mistake made by very inexperienced referees. Keep in mind that many U12 referees are just getting started and are subject to the same kinds of mistakes as U12 players. Like, deliberately handling the ball inside the penalty area.

Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Kevin,
You are spot on mate, you are to be commended for researching the laws I hope you remembered to show some restraint on the field when faced with this misaplication of the law, more than myself I might add. )o: As a coach of a u-16 provincial commenwealthcup team a similar event where the opposing keeper handled the ball WELL outside the penalty area and my team was awarded a PK!!!!???
I admittedly attempted to prevent this misaplication and was nearly expelled from the match!
Referees require training and experiance the same as players , while regretable, it is part of the match condition.

It is justifiable to protest a misaplication of the law. While opinion as to what foul occurred is a fact concerning play and uncontestable as referee decision the restart MUST in law be commesurate with the reason play was stopped.


Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 12023
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.