Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 14368

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/5/2006

RE: rec Under 10

John of Hernando, MS USA asks...

My keeper was attempting to pick up the ball, the opposing player slid into the keeper. My keeper made the save, but I was under the impression that at no time could you slide into the keeper. Just need to know for future reference.

In the same game my player is one on one with the keeper. The keeper tries to pick up the ball and my player shot into his chest. Great save. My player is shown the yellow card.!? There was no contact between the players at all. In my opinion, sliding into the keeper was the more dangerous play, please let me know your opinion.

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

You must evaluate why the keeper got slid into. Was it his fault or the keepers fault? A player can slide for the ball if not done in a dangerous manner. If the player started the slide and the keeper bent down to pick up ball or dove on ball, then it is the keepers fault for putting himself in the position of the sliding players path. I know many referees favor the keeper, but the keeper is really allowed no special rights here.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Answer provided by Referee Jeroen Krijvenaar

Hi, Sliding towards the keeper is allowed as long it is in a decent manner, and the keeper does not hold the ball in his hand or hands.

About your player getting the yellow card, you might ask why did your player kick the ball against his own keeper chest ?? as this might be picked up by the ref as unlawful behavior. If he shot this to the chest of the keeper of the other team, I can only assume that the ref thought that the keeper was already in possession of the ball.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jeroen Krijvenaar

View Referee Jeroen Krijvenaar profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 14368
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.