Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 14612

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 12/19/2006

RE: AYSO rec Under 15

Cameron of Palmdale, CA USA asks...

A forward from team A has broken away with the ball and is just inside Team B's penalty box 44 yard line with team B,s GK at ready stance inside his goal when a player from B team trips a player from A team who is inside (and onside) the PA. The ref awards a PK. Is this a right call?

Answer provided by Referee Mike Gartenhaus

If I understand the question to be is it a PK call if an offensive player is tripped inside the defense's Penalty Area, then yes it was a correct call. The player tripped need not be the one with the ball. However, the referee should be sure that it was a clear trip, and not just incidental contact.
Thank you for writing.



Read other questions answered by Referee Mike Gartenhaus

View Referee Mike Gartenhaus profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

Yes, correct call. The referee called a trip and it was inside penalty area. PK.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

This would be a correct decision even if the player was in an offside position and not active.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Cameron,
I do hope you refer to the penalty area as the penalty area= PA! While it is 18 yards deep from goal line to outer parallel boundry and 18 yards wide on both sides of the corner posts with 8 yards of goalline in between so the parallel lines to the midfield are 44 yards long I never heard of anyone explaining it in the context you used it.

If the careless trip occurs inside the PA against an opponent without the ball it is in fact a DFK penal foul and as such becomes a PK provided the ball was in play.

You mention the player was onside as well as inside the PA!
I just want to point out being offside positioned does not mean the offside player can be fouled with impunity or only be misconduct. He is required to participate with active involvement at some point during that phase of play! cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 14612
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.