Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 14664

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 1/5/2007

RE: select Under 17

mandip of surrey, B.C. Canada asks...

can the goalie pickup the ball in the D-area of the 18yrd box?

Answer provided by Referee Mike Gartenhaus

No the keeper may not handle the ball in the D. it is not part of the Penalty Area, it is only used to ensure that all players are 10 yards from the ball when Penalty Kicks are taken.
However, if the ball was not kicked or thrown in directly to the D by the teammate, then teh keeper may dribble the ball with his foot back into the Penalty Area and then pick the ball up.
Thank you for writing.



Read other questions answered by Referee Mike Gartenhaus

View Referee Mike Gartenhaus profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

No, he may not. That is the penalty arc. Penalty arc is only used on a PK to ensure all players are 10 yards from the ball.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Well he can, but he's not going to like the result. (Yeah, my kids always hate when I do the "can/may" thing too.)

The arc is not part of the penalty area. It is there for the same reason the center circle is there - to define where players may stand in a very specialized kick. The keeper's special powers do not apply in the arc.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

No. It's outside of the penalty area



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 14664
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.