- Soccer Referee Resources
- Ask a Question
- Recent Questions
RSS FEED Subscribe Now!
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
Question Number: 14826
Law 15 - Throw In 2/11/2007
RE: Competitive College
Ronan Byrne of Cork, Ireland asks...
I was wondering if you could clarify the issue of a foul throw in. The refs in my league keep pulling people for this but you never see any of the refs in the top leagues using this rule. Could you let me know if such a rule exists and define what a foul throw in is. Thank you
Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino
From Law 15
At the moment of delivering the ball, the thrower:
faces the field of play;
has part of each foot either on the touch line or on the ground outside the touch line
uses both hands
delivers the ball from behind and over his head
Any of these things not done properly, it's a foul throw.
The reason you rarely see this called is that most referees at higher levels of play view infringements of Law 15 as "trifling" and allow the game to proceed
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profile
Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson
The newer referee is TECHNICALLY challanged to grasp the law in its absolutes and finds solace in seeing something he can easily find fault with as opposed to creating great foul recognition and man management skills with come only from making mistakes.
Personally I encourage good mechanics and will repeat certain things to the younger players as well as overlook the trifling variations of a poor throw versus an excellent one.
ONLY if the throw in is horribly transparent to all it was a mess, from the wrong spot and the thrower's team was benifiting from the FOUL throw must we intervene all else is we could but do we NEED too?
We could allow a player to take a throw with one foot just inside the FOP as he lifted his heel almost imperceptably ,that same player next time has both feet inside the field of play as he runs into the field we could stop have a talk and awarded the throw to the other team.
NOTE IF you are asked in law terms on a test paper a foul throw can not be overlooked! Within the context of dynamic play you can sell trivial or define the bending as doubtfull and as a fact of play it becomes uncontestable just be sure you know when and where to draw that line.
Look to FIFA q&A 6. After an incorrectly taken throw-in, the ball goes directly to an opponent.
Is play allowed to continue by applying the advantage clause?
No. A player of the opposing team retakes the throw-in.
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profile
Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol
When my sons were playing U12, their coach required them to do pushups for foul throws. One day we were watching a game on TV and a foul throw was called. They began laughing and wondered if the player had to do his pushups at the next practice. So from time to time it does happen at the advanced levels.
I am inclined to be more strict with the younger players who are learning the game. Learning proper throw-ins is part of that education. As the players get older, it has to be pretty blatantly bad before I make a call.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profile
Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer
This could be because the players at the top levels of football know how to do a proper throw-in and the referee just doesn't have to interfere. When I look at a thrower return the ball to play I see degrees of correctness and why the player threw it the way he did. A bad throw-in to throw the ball a long distance gets pulled up, one the same just to get the ball back to play is just ugly and I let things continue.
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile
- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 14826
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - Throw In
- Soccer Referee Extras
Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.
Enter Question Number
If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer
Offside Question?Offside Explained
by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.