Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 14955

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/7/2007

RE: competitive Under 15

david neison of palm desert, c usa asks...

this applies to an indoor game but i am guessing the rules would be the same for outdoor. if a goalie is standing with both feet inside the goal box (outer box)and reaches out and catches a ball from the air that is outside the box, is it a legal catch or a hand ball. thanks

Answer provided by Referee Mike Gartenhaus

David,
In this case hte rules are the same for indoor and outdoor. It is illegal handling of the ball. The location of the ball is what determines location of a handling foul, not where the feet are.
Thank you for writing.



Read other questions answered by Referee Mike Gartenhaus

View Referee Mike Gartenhaus profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

The goalkeeper may deliberately handle the ball within his own penalty area, Law 12 states this by exception. It is the same in indoor.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi David,
thus you now know given the goods by my colleagues that if we reverse your senario with keeper standing outside his PA( Penalty Area) he could reach back into his PA and legally grab the ball. If the ball overhangs or is on or is inside the boundry lines per the exception granted to the keeper he is permitted to use the hands! Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 14955
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.