Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 15101

The Technical Area 4/2/2007

RE: Rec Under 11

Joe Schmitt of Louisville, KY US asks...

In a U10 girl's game last weekend, one of our players kicked the ball back to our goalie who subsequenlty picked it up and was properly called for the foul. The problem occurred when the center ref called a penalty kick and not the indirect. I questioned the AR who in turn asked the center if an indirect was the proper result. They changed to an indirect and the game went on. My question is - when is it proper to do this? We teach the girls to play on and not question a call but as coaches, we will ask who committed the foul or what was the call if we don't hear what happened.
Thanks.

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

If I were a coach, I would have done the same thing. I always tell my referees at clinics that no one can ever argue with them on whether or not a push is a push or a trip is a trip, or on any judgement situation. On the other hand if they get a technical aspect wrong such as award a PK when it should have been an IFK, then teams/coaches can argue with them. This was not an error in judegement, but an error in knowledge.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Answer provided by Referee Debbie Hoelscher

When it comes to the application (or misapplication) of the LOTG, a respectful approach to a member of the referee team is always welcome. It is important to remember though, that requesting what the call was, or who committed a foul is not necessarily the same thing. And insisting that a referee give that information is irritating at the least.



Read other questions answered by Referee Debbie Hoelscher

View Referee Debbie Hoelscher profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

H Joe,

IN terms of restart at the u-11 youth and lower the quick restart or advantage type situations are fewer, less understood and there is generally sufficent time to respond a request for clarification. But often hollared requests are not coached in a tone that lends to a civil response. And if you catch a referee on an irritated note
reasonable discourse of information is not truly an easy two way street for a referee/coach exchange.

The logistics of each situation are not always present to be amiable or informative. While we can debate the merits of allowing a coach to ask for information many times he simply will not be able to do so without incurring difficulties.

You mention you will ask who committed the foul or what was the call if you don't hear what happened. If your captain asks me on the field at an appropriate time I will certainly give that info. I certainly see no reason to withhold information of that nature . If the time and circumstances allow for it!

Even though as referee I specifically forbid any discussion with my ARS by any team, in any capacity because of the distractions. I too as coach would likely try to enlist the AR to help correct the mistake where a mis-application of the laws could turn into a protest and match replay. Still I strongly urge use your captains as often
as possible. I have my captains at the pregame coin flip specifically ask the referee if they can ask for clarification if they do not understand something. Usually we get yes if polite, reasonable and at an appropriate time! Then if these situations arise you have a ready pipeline to go through.
Cheers




Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15101
Read other Q & A regarding The Technical Area

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.