Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 1555

RE: Any

Jason of Edmond, OK United States asks...

An offside offense is only called when the three conditions are met: At the TIME (1) a teamate plays the ball, the player is in an offside POSITION (2) and PARTICIPATES (3) in the play by playing the ball, interfering with play, or gaining an advantage from his position...Only when all three are true can the player be penalized. My question regards the correct ball placement for the restart after the offside call has been made. ..Is it at the players location when the ball was last touched by a teamate?..Is it at the players location when he has satisfied all conditions? ..I understand that TLOTG state the restart is at the position of the player penalized, but his position when? I have had situations where an offside call has been delayed due to the participation clause and the restart position is significantly different depending on which placement is correct...I look forward to your answer.

Answer provided by Referee miller

The legally correct position for the restart is the position of the offside atacker at the moment the ball was last touched by their teammate; usually, but not always, level with where the AR with the raised flag is standing. For rapidity of restart, the ball is often positioned near where it was when the whistle was blown.



Read other questions answered by Referee miller

View Referee miller profile

Answer provided by Referee stewart

As Mr Miller stated, it is taken at the point the player WAS when the team-mate played the ball. If there is a delay in the call and the player has moved from A to B in that time, then the restart should be at point A. Whether the exact position is stringently applied by the referee is at his discretion, depending on any unfair advantage or penalty.



Read other questions answered by Referee stewart

View Referee stewart profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 1555
Read other Q & A regarding

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.