Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 16153

Law 14 - Penalty kick 7/28/2007

RE: Recreational League Other

TC of minneapolis, minnesota USA asks...

If I take a penalty kick, when I kick the ball, can my motion carry over, to run a few steps after or must I stop at the line? Thank You.

Answer provided by Referee Gil Weber

TC, as soon as the ball moves forward it is in play. Assuming all players were properly positioned and neither team has violated Law 14 prior to the ball being put into play (for example, by encroaching within 10 yards of the penalty mark) then at that moment all players of both teams are free to move anywhere they wish on the field. There are no restrictions what-so-ever.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gil Weber

View Referee Gil Weber profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Once you have kicked and moved the ball it is in play. That means everyone is permitted to run around as he chooses. The only restrictions on you is this, until the ball touches another player you can't touch it again.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

You can kick the ball and follow it in if you want. Once the ball has been kicked and moves forward, it is in play. All players can proceed to next position at that point. Remember though that you cannot touch ball twice in a row as its an IFK for opponents if you do,



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16153
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.