Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 1663

RE: pro

Ben of , Australia asks...

1. An indirect free kick taken by a player outside his own penalty area is played back to the keeper. The goalie is taken by surprise and the ball goes into the net...

2. Because of snow both teams ask for the match to be abandoned at half time must the reef agree..

3. Straight from the kick off the ball is kicked into the opponents goal..

4. The referee is not sure whether the ball went right over the goal line should he stop the game to ask the assistants..

5. During a check of footwear a players shoes do not meet the rules must he wait for all player to be ready

Answer provided by Referee Gary Sebalja

Long time no hear from an australian,..Here are your answers:..1) Corner..2) not sure don't get snow where I am. But if both teams agree not to play what are you going to do outside for 45 minutes...3) goal..4) no the assistant should start running back to the half way once a goal is scored as play stops so there is no need for the assistant and the center blows for a goal. SEE kingz v glory..5) No all players should be ready to legally take the field at the time of kick off. It is just poor game preparation that has let his team down.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Sebalja

View Referee Gary Sebalja profile

Answer provided by Referee miller

1) I agree; 2)The ref must agree. If the teams refuse to play and the ref doesn't agree, then the match must be abandoned and a report written as to why; 3) I agree; 4)Don't stop the game; look at your AR. If he isn't signalling ball out, continue play; if he is, then stop play; 5)No. The player can be allowed to join the game in progress if he corrects his equipment problems.



Read other questions answered by Referee miller

View Referee miller profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 1663
Read other Q & A regarding

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.