Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 16666

Law 11 - Offside 9/12/2007

RE: select Adult

tim block of rochester, mn usa asks...

This question is a follow up to question 16629

When does "slight deflection" become "intentionally played" by a defender. Often a defender intentionally tries to redirect ball with header but does not get sufficient contact to achieve significant redirection and ball continues on to attacker who was in offsides position. I treat this as a deflection and label it offsides as attacker was indeed gaining an advantage. However one could say the defender made an intentional play on the ball. Defender did not gain control but he did make intentional play or attempted to. How do you see it?

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

A good question, Tim! According the Advice to Referees, the defender has to have possession and control - slightly different than attempting to make an intentional play - he has to actually make the play. I quote here from the new 2007 ATR: "11.14 BECOMING "ONSIDE"
A player's offside position must be reevaluated whenever:
1. The ball is again touched or played by a teammate,
2. The ball is played (possessed and controlled, not simply deflected) by an opponent, including the opposing goalkeeper, or 3. The ball goes out of play. "

Basically, we are not going to give someone in an offside position a break because the defender tried to play a ball but failed. That wouldn't be fair, so the criteria is the defendant must actually play the ball. (He doesn't have to play it well or beautifully - just well enough that you can determine he controlled and played it.) Your instincts are correct.



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Tim think of it this way, "If I did that did I control it or just deflect it?" If you're a player the answer will pop into focus. It's a funny old Game so the answer is going to be simple...

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16666
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.