Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 1672

RE: all Other

Nick Wallace of Ephrata, WA USA asks...

I recently watched the USSF video "Myths of the Game". In the video was a segment on throw-ins, during which the commentator stated that there is nothing in Law 15 prohiting spin or rotation. This is true and accurate...The commentator then stated that a throw-in directed straight downward (a spike) is illegal. My difficulty with this contention is that I see nothing in Law 15 that prohibits a throw-in directly into the ground, just as I see nothing that prohibits spin or rotation. If the logic is that spin and rotation is acceptable because Law 15 does not prohibit these things, then a throw-in directed straight down must be acceptable as well because it is not precluded in Law 15...Please explain the basis for the claim that a throw-in directed straight down is illegal. Thanks

Answer provided by Referee Victor Matheson

I cannot explain how "spiking" the ball is illegal. This very statement in the video ruins the otherwise excellent video for me. As you say, I see nowhere in the LOTG that prohibits throwing the ball straight down. Why they added this little bit is beyond me.



Read other questions answered by Referee Victor Matheson

View Referee Victor Matheson profile

Answer provided by Referee miller

The USSF Advice to Referees is specific on this issue (although I don't know what the rationale is) "15.3 PROPERLY TAKEN THROW-IN.?A throw-in directed straight downward (often referred to as a "spike") is therefore not correctly performed and may result in the restart being awarded to the opposing team. There is no requirement in Law 15 prohibiting spin or rotational movement."



Read other questions answered by Referee miller

View Referee miller profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 1672
Read other Q & A regarding

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.