Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 18022

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/28/2007

RE: Recreational Adult

Edgar Hulatt of Calgary, Alberta Canada asks...

This question is a follow up to question 17935

Wow, that one [17935] had my mind in knots. After thinking it through and trying to relate the various options to the FIFA LOTG rule book I came to the following conclusion:

1. If a defending player pulls the crossbar down to prevent the ball going into the goal, play is stopped, and he/she is shown a red card for deliberate handball resulting in a DOGSO as the bar is considered an extension of his hand. A penalty kick is awarded.

2. A goalkeeper pulling the bar down cannot be penalised for deliberate handball in the penalty area. Consequently if goalkeeper pulls the crossbar down, play is stopped, and he/she is shown a yellow card for USB.

3. The LOTG state that: "An indirect free kick is awarded to the opposing team if a player commits any other offence, not previously mentioned in Law 12, for which play is stopped to caution or dismiss a player." Thus an IDFK is awarded, presumably from a point on the 6 yard line directly perpendicular to the goal line where the offence occurred.

4. The LOTG also state: "A player is sent off and shown the red card if he/she DOGSO by an offence punishable by a free kick or a penalty kick." The goalkeeper is thus shown the red card as the USB offence is punishable by an indirect free kick.

My initial confusion was because I was assuming that the offence punishable by a free kick had to be a direct free kick for a red card to be shown whereas an IDFK also meets the criteria for a DOGSO.

Does this all make sense?

The website is brilliant, I really enjoy the variety of replies from the various refs.

Edgar




Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Your logic is spot on! There can be no question the keeper is going to get an early bath, the problem arises in the mechanics of it all. He must be shown to be guilty of an offence punishable by a free kick and that happens after he is cautioned and shown the yellow card. Restart for that is indirect free kick. Kapowie, that's a sending-off offence. Catch ya later dude...

We did ask the national organisation down here and what they said was as of 26 Nov 2007: Pulling down the crossbar is unsporting and therefore a cautionable offence. Once that is established by cautioning the player and showing him the yellow card the restart of play, an indirect free kick, is established. At that point in time the unsporting player who has committed an offence punishable by a free kick is sent-off for denying a goal or a goal scoring opportunity by an offence punishable by a free kick.

Thanks, we always appreciate comments regarding our brilliance.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

1. You are correct. 2. Correct. The crossbar is an extension of his hand so no DOGSO for handling as he's the keeper. Rather, DOGSO by commiting USB, an offence punishable by a free kick. 3. yup 4. EXACTLY! It doesn't say a FOUL punishable by a free kick, it says an OFFENCE. USB is an offense punishable by a free kick.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 18022
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.