Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 18831

Law 15 - Throw In 4/20/2008

RE: Rec/Select

Mike Dreyfus of Germantown, TN USA asks...

I am a referee and soccer parent. Another parent on my daughter's team is also a coach of a younger boys team. He asked about a situation that recently happened in a tournament where he was coaching his boys. On a throw-in, the ball never entered the field of play; i.e. the ball did not cross into the plane of the touchline. The referee awarded the ensuing throw-in to the opposing team stating that this was a new rule this year. The AR supported his statement. I have not heard of any such rule change and searched my 2007-08 copy to LOTG and could not find any such change. The law as I am familiar with is that if the ball never comes into play, the throw is retaken. Am I wrong or has there been a change?

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

There is no such new rule and both the center and AR need to go get recertified if they think there is. In High School where they make up all kinds of different rules, this would be a foul throw. In the rest of the world, the throw never happened as the ball wasn't put into play so we retake the throw.

Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

A correctly taken throw-in that doesn't enter the field of play is retaken. A throw-in that is incorrectly taken is given to the other side whether or not it enters the field of play. Only in American high school does a correctly taken throw-in that doesn't enter the field of play go over to the other side.


Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee MrRef

Please refer to 19145 for new information

Read other questions answered by Referee MrRef

View Referee MrRef profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 18831
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - Throw In

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 19145

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.