Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 19177

Kicks From The Penalty mark 5/23/2008

RE: Travel Under 14

Gwyn Williams of Bridgewater, NJ USA asks...

Having seen Christian Ronaldo "stutter step" while taking several PKs recently my questions are:
- what type of actions by the kicker that are meant to deceive the keeper are OK?
- what actions are definitely not OK?
- are there overall guidelines such as "kicker must keep moving forward"?
- if an illegal deception happens is it treated like any other attacking team PK infringement i.e retake if goal scored and IFK otherwise?

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

Had Ronaldo run past the ball and backed up, that would almost certainly have been unacceptable, but that is perhaps the only feint one can point at that is definitely out of bounds. Kickers are allowed a great degree of latitude in penalty kicks - almost as much as players at a regular free kick during the game. It is the referee's opinion that matters as to whether or not the feinting actions of the kicker are unsporting. If the decision is yes, they are unsporting, a caution will be issued. The restart depends on whether or not the ball entered the goal. In this case, since the ball struck by Ronaldo did not score and we are in the Kicks from the Mark phase, the referee needed to do nothing else, especially if he determined there was no USB. If it had scored, and if the referee had decided the action was unsporting, the kick would be retaken after the caution was issued. During the regulation play, behavior at the kick which is deemed unsporting will result in a caution and the restart will be an IDFK out if the ball does not go in the goal, and a retake if it does. The same kicker does not have to retake the kick.



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Personally I had no issue with the way in which Ronaldo took his Pk. Coming to a hesitation stop in a stutter step is fine as it is permissible to feint at a PK. Nothing Ronaldo did was worthy of a caution or incorrect in law in my opinion. The method of taking a PK could be seen as USB only if the staggered stops were carried on for too long and or the player backed up to run again or carried his body/kick past the ball as in a step over or fake kick. You might have noticed how the keeper adapted his own style because he knew what Ronaldo wanted was a tell by the keeper to indicate which side of the goal he was going to. As the pk shot missed there is no retake provision. While it is in my opinion a reach to see this as cautionable each referee his match his decision his reputation! Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Gil Weber

Well I have to disagree with Referee Dawson. Had I been the referee of this match and if, in my opinion, Ronaldo had taken a couple of **slow** steps toward the ball and stopped I might have been convinced that he was just repositioning himself for a shorter run up. And I'd have allowed the goal if scored.

However, in my never humble opinion, in this case Ronaldo clearly took quick steps -- he was going to kick until the unexpected happened. As he approaches the ball he stutter-steps, expecting Cech to dive one way or the other. Surprise! Cech stands his ground and Ronaldo is left there looking at Cech thinking to himself, "Dive one way or the other damnit!"

When Cech doesn't move Ronaldo realizes he's screwed, and he then makes a hash of the kick. Had it gone in, definitely a retake. No caution, but a retake.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gil Weber

View Referee Gil Weber profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 19177
Read other Q & A regarding Kicks From The Penalty mark

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.