Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 20933

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/5/2009

RE: Comp Adult

Spurs of b, b UK asks...

A defender takes a goalkick to his keeper.

Keeper then kicks it back into his area & picks it up.

Is this deemed a backpass?!

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

The infraction is called if the goalkeeper 'touches the ball with his hands after it has been deliberately kicked to him by a team-mate.' This is why we don't like to use the term backpass on this site. The ball doesn't have to go back, and not every pass counts.

In your scenario, the goalkeeper has infringed Law 12, as long as the ball went out of the penalty area. If it didn't leave the PA, the goal kick is retaken.

Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

What's a backpass? The teammate of the keeper has deliberately kicked the ball to the keeper. No, the keeper may not subsequently handle the ball after dribbling it into his own penalty area. This assumes the ball left the penalty area. If it didn't, you retake the goal kick

Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

The ball was deliberately kicked to the keeper by a member of his side, correct? According to Law 12 the keeper is prohibited from using his hands until the ball touches another player. Why complicate things by calling it something the Laws don't.


Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

I want to answer no based on semantics, because there is no such foul as 'back pass.'

However, the answer your looking for is yes. The goalkeeper would violate the Law 12 restriction that the goalkeeper may not handle a ball that was deliberately kicked to him by his own teammate.

Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 20933
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.