Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 20950

Kicks From The Penalty mark 3/9/2009

RE: Amateur Adult

Rob Andrews of Bristol, United Kingdom asks...

I have always wondered:

In a penalty shoot out there are no rebounds, so if a penalty comes back off the post (normally a miss), but then hits the body of the goalkeeper who dived in front of it, and goes in, does the goal stand?

I would have said no because this would count as a rebound?

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

The kick is over when the momentum of the ball is spent, and when the referee says it is. The two should always coincide but the latter controls.

So in your case, the ball is still live and in motion when it hits the post, hits the goalkeeper and then goes into the goal (where the motion stops). If the motion had carried the ball off the field or over the bar, it would not be a goal.

Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Instead of thinking about rebounds think the keeper is the only player allowed to touch the ball more than once on a single kick. He may touch it as often as necessary to make it completely stop moving. If he allows the ball to cross his goal line under the crossbar and between his posts before it stops moving he gets to touch it once more -- to dig it from the net and give it to the referee because he's just allowed a goal.


Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 20950
Read other Q & A regarding Kicks From The Penalty mark

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.