Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 20965

Law 13 - Free Kicks 3/12/2009

RE: Adult

Tony of Sydney, NSW Australia asks...

Dear Panel I have another query to clarify,

On a goal kick the keeper kicks the ball and it clears the penalty area but it hits the ref who is standing outside the penalty area and the ball heads towards the goal and the keeper makes a dive to stop it entering the goal, but the Keeper gets a touch on the ball, and the ball enters the goal.

My understanding that this is not a goal but an indirect free kick to the opposition for a second touch of the ball by the goalkeeper.

The reason being that you are not able to score against yourself from any re-start so there can not be any advantage.

Is this correct?

If so question 52 in the 'TT an 11E Laws exam 2009' United States Soccer Federation State Instructor Training on the ussoccer website (under referee development) may need a revisit.

Not 100% sure I'm correct but as always looking forward to your comments.

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Tony, here is the policy US Soccer referees are bound to:

Only the team taking a goal kick can score a goal directly from this restart. There can be no 'own goal' on a goal kick. If a properly taken goal kick goes directly into the goal of the kicking team (i. e., the ball left the penalty area into the field of play but was blown back), the proper restart is a corner kick for the opposing team. Because a team cannot score directly against itself from a goal kick, no infringement of the Law by a member of the kicking team can be considered to have prevented a goal or a goalscoring opportunity within the meaning of Law 12 without some intervening play of the ball.

A goalkeeper who takes a goal kick, which passes outside of the penalty area and then returns in the direction of the goal, attempts to prevent the ball from entering the goal by handling it. Although the attempt is unsuccessful and the ball enters the net, the goal cannot be counted as the offense of 'second touch' has occurred and must result in an indirect free kick restart where the second touch occurred*. Advantage is not applied because 'second touch' is not a violation of Law 12 (see Advice 5.6). If the goalkeeper's handling of the ball in these circumstances had been successful, the 'second handling' offense would be called, but the goalkeeper could not be sent from the field and shown a red card for interfering with a goalscoring opportunity (goalkeeper handling, unless it occurred outside the penalty area, is exempt from the misconduct of handling to prevent a goal).


Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

Tony, I'm not sure where you really found this test, but none of the USSF tests should be posted online anywhere, and are certainly not on the USSF website.

It is possible a pirated copy has been posted, which is unfortunate. One cannot be certain of the accuracy of such information, much less the posted answers.

Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

This should be an IFK at the area the keeper touched it, subject to the special circumstances of law 8.

Of course, I wonder what was the referee doing standing there so he could be hit from a goal kick.

Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 20965
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.