Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 20989

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/16/2009

RE: Adult

Melvin H, of Colorado Springs, Colorado U.S.A. asks...

This question is a follow up to question 20970

To follow up on the question, but in a different direction: A section of the rule on goal celebrations mentions that if a player pulls the shirt over the head, the player is to be cautioned.

Well . . .

Although not a goal celebration, that got me to thinking: In this past weekend's Serie A game, AC Milan at Siena, AC's Kaka was left all by himself just inside the penalty spot, 10 yards from Siena's goal. Having a LOT of time to receive the cross, turn around, set up, and kick . . . he MISSED the goal by six feet high! In his frustration, Kaka pulled the bottom of his shirt over his head for a short time--I am guessing to the referee couldn't see what he must have been saying to himself!

BUT . . . unlikely as it seems, could a referee have yellow-carded Kaka for the act of pulling his shirt over his head, crazy as it sounds?

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

The caution is for excessive celebration. In the scenario above there was no celebration - only shame and humiliation. Woe to the ref who doesn't see that trap coming...

Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Doesn't resemble excessive celebration. No caution here.

Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 20989
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.