Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 21040

Law 5 - The Referee 3/26/2009

RE: Competitive Under 14

Jay of Santa Cruz, ca US asks...

According to Law 5, the referee 'allows play to continue when the team against which an offense has been committed will benefit from such an advantage' yet in ATR, 5.6 it states that the rule applies only to those offenses listed in law 12. It seems clear to me that the LOTG say that advantage applies when any offense has occurred. So why don't we give advantage on offside calls? The laws should trump ATR. Any insight here would be great. And, no, I don't apply advantage in such an instance. Also, any idea when the new ATR will be posted on US Soccer web site?

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

You are a USSF referee and are bound by USSF guidelines. This is an area where USSF disagrees with IFAB and we are only allowed to apply advantage for violations of Law 12. As far as Law 11, if the keeper gets the ball clean anway, did the offside attacker really interfere with an opponent? I think the new ATR should be posted fairly soon but that's just a guess

Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

The answer to this question lies at the feet of the current US Soccer Manager of Referee Development and Education. I have asked this question before and it comes down to that's the way he views it.

As to why we don't play advantage on offside decisions is simple, the offside offence didn't happen if the defence is in full control and begins an attack.

Changes to the ATR are being worked at this time. When you'll see it I don't know but it will not be before 1 July.


Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

The USSF answer is that where IFAB uses the word advantage other than in Law 12, they really don't mean Advantage. Instead, the USSF says that the offense should be considered trifling.

Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 21040
Read other Q & A regarding Law 5 - The Referee

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.