Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 21068

Law 11 - Offside 4/1/2009

RE: Competitve Under 9

Jim Williams of Robesonia, PA USA asks...

Offsides question. If the other team has ALL their defending players (except keeper) on your half of the pitch and you send an attacker onto their half to wait for a long ball is your player offsides?

Thanks.

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

If that player is ahead of the ball, she is in an offside position.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

And being in an offside position is not an offense. If the player in OSP becomes involved in play from that position on a ball last touched by a teammate, then she will be offside.



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

This is one of the coach's myths that absolutely baffles me yet it is widespread. The myth goes that if all the opponents are in your half of the field miraculously Law 11 no longer applies. How this got started I don't have a clue but i hear this question/belief from coaches at least once a season. If all the opponents except the keeper are in your half of the field, and the ball is also in your half of the field, EVERY player of yours that crosses the center line into the attacking half of the field will be in offside position. If the ball is then played to them and they touch it, they will be guilty of an offside offense and an indirect free kick will be awarded your opponents.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 21068
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 21103

See Question: 21127

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.