Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 21085

Law 14 - Penalty kick 4/4/2009

RE: Competitive Adult

Christopher Lloyd of Novato, CA USA asks...

Penalty Kick Sanctions

What's the rationale here:

'A team-mate of the player taking the kick
infringes the Laws of the Game:
? the referee allows the kick to proceed
? if the ball enters the goal, the kick is retaken
? if the ball does not enter the goal, the referee stops play and restarts the match with an indirect free kick, from the place where the infringement occurred, to the defending team'

So, a team is awarded a PK. They take it, it goes in the net, but one of the team infringes the 10-yard rule before the kick is taken. So now they have also committed a foul.

Why should they have earned the right to re-take the kick. Surely it would be fairer if the defending team were to be awarded an IFK?

I know it's FIFA, but I'd like your take on this.

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Well, the teammate by infringing the 10 yard requirement hasn't committed a foul just an infraction. Fouls are by definition committed against opponents, on the field of play while the ball is in play. But that's not your question.

My guess is that the awarding of a penalty kick is a serious thing. That is to say, the defending team committed an action serious enough to have a penalty kick awarded. The team that was fouled has to be given a reasonable chance to score on the taking of the penalty kick. In this case, they did score but a teammate committed an offense prior to the kick so the goal is waived off but since the ball did go into the net, they get another chance to score. If they missed their shot then it would be unfair to give them another shot if they infringed the LOTG.

That's my take but I have no real idea why IFAB and FIFA do a lot of things they do

Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

A side has the right to a fairly taken penalty kick. In this case, by encroaching into a prohibited area a member of the attacking side has not fairly taken their penalty kick. By Law it must be taken again. That is the rationale.

Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

I just follow the laws and Law 14 tells us that is how we deal with offenses, and so that is all the rationale I need.

Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 21085
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.