Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 21086

Kicks From The Penalty mark 4/5/2009

RE: Adult

josh of peterborough, cambs UK asks...

This regards a penalty shoot-out situation.

A player shoots and hits the crossbar, it flies across to the other side of the pitch over all the players in the centre cirlce and hits the cross bar at the other end, the ball then returns and enters the goal(The goalkeeper was away celebrating the PK win). Would this goal stand? The referee had not blown to signal the end of the game either yet.

What rules is infringed if it doesn't count?

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

That player must have a heckuva strong kick!

The ball is live as long as it's momentum is not spent, and it is not interrupted by the kicker. This means it can bounce off of the defending goalkeeper or any crazy concoction of legal field appurtenances and still go in the goal and score.

Referees need to be careful not to blow the whistle too soon on shootouts.

What happens if the referee does blow the whistle too soon? That will depend in large measure on the local association rules defining the tie-breaking procedures. Unless there is a provision for protest, the referee's decision is final.



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Unless the referee stopped play, the goal would stand. Other than being impossible, your scenario is no different than if the ball hits the crossbar and rebounds in front of the keeper and then backspins into the net. That is to say, the ball is in play until all the energy imparted to it is spent, or it crosses the goal line or touch line, or the referee stops play.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

I'm glad that ball hit the crossbar first, because if it hit the goalkeeper it would have been likely to take his head off! And if it missed everything completely, we might have a new piece of space debris in orbit for the shuttle astronauts to avoid.

If I knew enough about aerodynamics I could probably prove this was an impossibility. But none the less, if it happened, the goal would count.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

I've wondered where 'Cannon Leg' McGurk had gone. Seems he's alive and well in Peterborough and still scoring improbable goals.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Peterborough got real tiny fields?
Try a shot off the crossbar, rebounds off the referee back to the kicker who whacks it again and then back off the referee into the goal.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 21086
Read other Q & A regarding Kicks From The Penalty mark

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.