Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 21127

Law 11 - Offside 4/14/2009

RE: Competitive-high school Adult

Dennis Neuner of Haslett, MI USA asks...

This question is a follow up to question 21068

Player a and b of the attacking team are in the onside position when player a kicks the ball toward the keeper. The ball bounces off of the keepers leg directly to player b who is now behind the 2nd last defender. Player b receives the rebound and scores. Should the goal be allowed?

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

As long as player b was onside when player a kicked the ball, then the goal is good. There is nothing in your scenario which would reset the position of player b from onside to offside.



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

'Player a and b of the attacking team are in the onside position when player a kicks the ball ...' We can stop right there. As a referee you must know when offside position is evaluated - when the ball is last touched by a teammate. As a and b were in an onside position at that time, there is no offside.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Of course it should. Dennis, you as a referee KNOW that it only matters where the player was when the ball was played by his teammate. You say he was onside. Doesn't matter where he RECEIVES the ball, he is allowed to play it. Award the goal.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 21127
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.