Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 21209

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 4/27/2009

robert of brick, NJ United States asks...

when an infringement of Law 12 occurs, when a player intentionally passes a ball back to the goalkeeper who handles it, where is the restart (IDFK) taken from? Is it from the spot where the player passed the ball back or is it from the spot where the goalkeeper picks it up?

Answer provided by Referee Debbie Hoelscher

The IFK is taken from the point of the infraction. In this case the infraction is that the goal keeper, while in their own penalty area controlled the ball with their hands after having received it from a kick from their teammate. (That is assuming that the 'passed the ball back' part of your question was referring to a kick, rather than heading it, kneeing it or chesting the ball back to their keeper.) The infraction is not that the ball was passed back. The infraction was that the goal keeper then picked it up. Based on that, you know then that the restart must be where the goal keeper picked it up.



Read other questions answered by Referee Debbie Hoelscher

View Referee Debbie Hoelscher profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

It's not an infraction to deliberately kick the ball to your goalkeeper. It's an infraction only if the keeper then handles the ball. The restart is from where the infraction occurs. In this case, where the keeper handles the ball, unless inside the goal area in which case the IDFK would be from the six yard line parallel to where the keeper handled the ball. Also, please note that if the keeper goes outside his penalty area and handles the ball, this is a direct free kick foul.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Keeper is the guilty party!
Once the keeper decides to use the hands ONLY then is an INDFK awarded from this point subject to the special circumstances of the goal area! The ball is spotted 6 yards away from goal no matter where the infringment occurs inside the 6 yard goal area as the ball is brought straight back to the goal AREA line that parallels the actual goal line, at 6 yards away!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 21209
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.