Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 21264

Law 3 - Number of Players 5/3/2009

RE: Competitive Under 13

Mike Janeck of Portsmouth, RI USA asks...

In the middle of the second half, I decided to substitute our goalie. I sent the replacement goalie to the half line, with another player playing forward. At the next opportunity, a throw in, I called for substitutions and the lineman held the flag appropriately. Two substitutions were made. A few moments later, the other coach called the referee over and complained that the goalie had not 'checked in' with the referee. Very shortly thereafter, the first time the goalie touched (caught) the ball with his hands, the referee stopped play and awarded a direct kick to to the opposing team five feet from the goal. They scored. I have several questions. First, how is the referee to be informed of a goalie substitution? Is is more formal than another substitution? Second, should the goalie have been yellow carded as soon as the infraction occurred and not as soon as he touched the ball with his hands. By the way, he was obviously the goalie, with a goalie shirt and gloves on.

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

Ack!!! Protest this game immediately!!

Misapplication of the Laws of the Game! Ack! Send this referee back to class - he missed some very important information in Law 3!!

You went through the appropriate procedures to change out your goal keeper. By allowing the substitute goalkeeper to enter the game, the referee has been informed of the change. That's all that is needed.

Regardless of whether the referee is informed or not, the proper procedure if a goalkeeper change has taken place is to wait until the next stoppage, then to caution both the new and the old goalkeeper. Play is NOT stopped for this infraction of Law 3. And the new keeper IS the keeper, so s/he cannot be whistled for deliberately handling the ball inside the penalty area.

Major error by the referee here - even if it is too late to protest the game, you MUST get in touch with the referee assignor and/or the youth association person in charge and get them to re-educate this referee. Please.



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Debbie Hoelscher

Oh dear, oh dear....not a good showing by the referee crew. Not only did the referee really make a blunder, but his crew let him down significantly. Under no circumstances should an AR allow his/her referee to make that kind of mistake. Not only should the referee be brought to the notice of the referee assignor, so, also should the rest of the referee team for leaving their referee in the lurch.



Read other questions answered by Referee Debbie Hoelscher

View Referee Debbie Hoelscher profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Blatant misapplication of the Law by what appears to be a clueless referee team! I agree, protest asap. So many mistakes. Where to begin? First every referee and soccer coach knows there's no such thing a direct free kick inside the attacking penalty area. DFK infractions by the defending team inside their own penalty area MUST result in a penalty kick. The Law requires the referee be notified of a keeper change. This referee, however, stood there and WATCHED the keeper change. If he was going to be a pinheaded, anal retentive referee, he should have cautioned both players immediately. He would have done an incredibly needless and stupid thing but at least would have been within Law. His watching the change and doing nothing was his tacit acknowledging the change. That should have been the end of it. But, let's suppose that a keeper change did occur that the referee did not see. The 'new' keeper is STILL the keeper and can never be guilty of the direct free kick foul of deliberately handling the ball inside his own penalty area. Had the switch occurred unnoticed by the referee until the new keeper caught a ball, he should follow the Laws Of The Game which tell us:

If a player changes places with the goalkeeper without the referee's
permission before the change is made:
? the referee allows play to continue
? the referee cautions the players concerned when the ball is next
out of play


I'd also like to know exactly when the opposing coach called the referee over. Was it during play after the throw-in took place? If it was, he can't even caution the 2 keepers as he has allowed play to restart. Further, what in the world was he doing talking to a coach during play? If he spoke with the coach BEFORE the throw-in, then, if he was going to to anything, he should have acted immediately



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 21264
Read other Q & A regarding Law 3 - Number of Players

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.