Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 21507

6/8/2009

RE: Select Under 13

Jorge of Goleta, California U.S.A asks...

Two players from team B have a breakaway.
Player 1 has the ball and player 2 is in front him. The keeper from team A goes after the player with the ball, player 1 kicks the ball the keeper tries to block but only slows down the ball which is rolling slowly towards the goal player 2 runs after the ball and kicks into the goal.
Referee calls offside on player 2. the coach from team B argues that it should be a legit goal because the ball comes from the keeper the referee explains that the player took advantage of an offside position. Is this the rigth call?

Answer provided by Referee Debbie Hoelscher

Most likely -- Yes. The reason why I cannot emphatically say 'yes' is because in your question, you describe that player #2's position is in front of his teammate with the ball, but don't describe whether or not player 2 is actually in front of the ball. In a break away such as you are describing, I am envisioning two players running as fast as they can go. The one with the ball is probably pushing the ball out in front of him as he sprints along. So, there is a likelihood that his teammate, at some point could be ahead of him, but behind (or not nearer to the goal line than) the ball.

However, the AR must have seen that the teammate was indeed in an offside position at the time his teammate last touched/played the ball. The ball deflected off the opponent (the keeper in this case) and the player in the offside position gained an advantage by being in the offside position. Therefore he must be judged to be offside. The AR is the only one in the position to know exactly who was where, when and what they did with their position.



Read other questions answered by Referee Debbie Hoelscher

View Referee Debbie Hoelscher profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Yes and no. From what you describe, the keeper did not control the ball so assuming player 2 is in offside position when the ball was played by player 1, player 2 may not play the ball. The goal is called off because player 2 interfered with play not for gaining an advantage by being in an offside position



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 21507
Read other Q & A regarding

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.