Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 21978

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/14/2009

RE: Intermediate Under 15

Richard Marquez of Mountain VIew, CA USA asks...

This question is a follow up to question 21667

So if I am reading this correctly, a keeper standing outside of his penalty area can reach back into his penalty area to deflect a ball (in the penalty area) and that is not a handball. Likewise, a keeper standing inside his penalty area holding the ball who, while holding the ball in his hands, extends his hands with the ball outside the penalty area has committed a handball. Correct?

Answer provided by Referee Gene Nagy

100% correct Richard! You have aced it my man! As long as the ball is completely over the line in question, the ball is outside of the area.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gene Nagy

View Referee Gene Nagy profile

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

Remember, it doesn't matter where the keeper is, only where the ball is. If the ball is outside of the penalty area with the keeper's hands on it, then it is a deliberately handled ball. If the ball is inside the penalty area, with the keeper's hands on it, well, that's his job, and it's legal.



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

You understand the concept although I prefer, 'Committed a foul of handles the ball deliberately' anal I know, but the term handball while accepted by many still creates myths aplenty!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

That's correct but keep in mind if the keeper is punting the ball and carries the ball a short distance over the penalty area boundary line, most of us would not punish this but , rather, tell him to be more careful next tim



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 21978
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.