Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 22219

Law 16 - Goal Kick 10/12/2009

RE: Adult

amy michelle of matoon, illinois usa asks...

A goalkeeper can score with a punt from his hands and even with a throw as the ball is still in play but the question is can a goalkeeper score straight from an off the floor goal kick?, I always thought they could not, as for the ball to be in play it has to be touched by another player..somehwere in the back of my mind I always thought this was the case, but then again the rules have been amended over the years..if it is not a goal what is awarded? a goal kick at the other end?

Also, if a hapless goalkeeper kicks it into his own net from a goal kick, it is a corner to the attacking team? Correct?

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

As I recall, goal kicks were made direct in the 1997 rewrite of the Laws. But as noted by my colleagues, only when scoring for yourself. You cannot score directly against yourself on a goal kick.

It would take some freaky circumstances for the ball to even end up in your net directly on a goal kick, as the ball has to exit the penalty area into the rest of the field before it is in play. And no goals can be scored while the ball is not in play.

Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

From page 46 of the Laws Of The Game:

A goal may be scored directly from a goal kick, but only against the opposing
team. If he kicks it into his own net it's a retake as the ball was never put into play.

Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

Law 16 - The Goal Kick says the ball is in play when it is kicked directly beyond the penalty area line (onto the field) - it does NOT have to touch another player, because it is not an indirect free kick restart. So, if the ball exits the penalty area, sails through the air and past the opposing goalkeeper and into the goal, GOAL it is!! Restart - kickoff.

Teams cannot score against themselves directly on any restart that is their own, such as kickoffs, goal kicks, corner kicks, free kicks or throw-ins.

Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 22219
Read other Q & A regarding Law 16 - Goal Kick

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 22707

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.