Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 22498

Kicks From The Penalty mark 11/11/2009

RE: Recreational Adult

Aaron of waterloo, ontario canada asks...

I was refereeing a game that went into a penalty shootout. On one of the kicks, the ball struck the crossbar, came back towards the field and then hit the goalie's back (who was off the line) and then rolled into the net. It was my interpretation that this would not be a goal because the play is dead once the ball changes direction and comes out. If this is not the case, is there any instance where in a shootout a shot is scored and is disallowed (not including not waiting for the whistle)

Answer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham

On kicks from the penalty mark, the ball is dead when it ceases its momentum (regardless of direction). If it deflects off the keeper or a twig on the field and enters the goal, it should be allowed as a goal.

The referee decides when the momentum of the ball from the kick has been spent. My entry for your second question is when the keeper catches and controls the ball; and on dropping it, the ball it hits something and rolls into the goal. IMO, the momentum stopped when the keeper caught and controlled the ball.



Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham

View Referee Dennis Wickham profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

And you would be absolutely, positively, 100% incorrect. At KFTPM, the ball is in play until it has no more kinetic energy or when the referee stops play. It doesn't matter what direction the ball is going and this is a common misconception among referees, so you are not alone. If the ball is still moving the keeper should pay attention as if the ball backspins into the net it's a goal



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Referee Aaron
Unfortunately you made an incorrect decision here. The goal should have stood.
To look at why this is the case we have to look at the history of KFTPM.
In 1986 a French player did just this in a penalty shoot out in a WC game between Brazil and France, The ball hit the crossbar and the ball came back out and hit the Brazilian goalkeeper and went into the goal. The Referee allowed the goal to count and France went on to win 4-3 on penalties.
There was a lot of controversy about the French penalty kick at the time due to an ambiguity in the law on when a penalty was completed. The Scottish Football Association sought clarification, and the current wording has its origins in a law change at that time. It was agreed at the time that it should be allowed and the wording changed to reflect that. In the great rewrite of 97/98 all that was all expunged and the current wording is

' When a penalty kick is taken during the normal course of play, or time has been extended at half-time or full time to allow a penalty kick to be taken or retaken, a goal is awarded if, before passing between the goalposts and under the crossbar:
# the ball touches either or both of the goalposts and/or the crossbar and/or the goalkeeper
The referee decides when a penalty kick has been completed'

So as my referee colleagues has stated a goal is awarded if the ball on its own momentum from the original kick goes over the goal line after hitting the frame of the goal and/or the goalkeeper.

As regards instances of disallowing a goal in a shootout the only ones I can think off is a second touch off the taker on a rebound but that is obvious and the keeper saves the ball, jumps around and in his excitement then knocks the ball into the net!!

You will know for the next time




Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

If you denied a goal from a rebound off ANY combination of goal posts, crossbar or keeper at the taking of a PK be it a normal PK, extended PK or in a shoot out/ KFTPM you have disallowed a perfectly good goal!

Once a Pk kick occurs, the momentum and force within the kick controls its ultimate destiny. If the ball does go out of play over the crossbar or wide of the posts or rebounds back into the field PAST the keeper where it no longer can rebound back towards goal it is reasonable to signal the PK as officially over. So to if a keeper saves the ball that stop is a controlled possession and the keeper releases the ball and is thrown or somehow manages its way into the goal it will not count as again it is reasonable to end play at that time when the stop/save occurred that took away the ball's original momentum.

The main point here is the ball can not contact anything but those three things no other player not the kicker, just POST, CROSSBAR or KEEPER in ANY order or combination thereof!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Nathan Lacy

As already enumerated, the goal you described should have been a good goal and what you need to do is let the energy of the original shot resolve itself in a manner consistent with normal play. All the best,



Read other questions answered by Referee Nathan Lacy

View Referee Nathan Lacy profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 22498
Read other Q & A regarding Kicks From The Penalty mark

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.