Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 22534

Law 14 - Penalty kick 11/16/2009

RE: College

rishab kr of jalandhar, punjab India asks...

while a penalty kick is taken, if the penalty kick taker's teammate commits a foul by moving inside the penalty area before the kick is off, then will they be given another penalty kick?? If yes, is the team allowed to change the player who was taking the penalty earlier to another player in the in the next attempt??

Answer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham

On a penalty kick, if a member of the attacking team infringes law 14 by entering the penalty area before the kick (after the referee whistles), the referee allows the kick to proceed.

If a goal is scored directly from the kick, the kick is retaken.
If a goal is not scored, the defending team is awarded an indirect free kick from the spot of the infringement.

Whenever a kick is retaken, any other player on the team may take the kick.



Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham

View Referee Dennis Wickham profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi
Referee Wickham has provided the correct answer. Many teams object to a change of player on a penalty kick that needs to be retaken, which is allowed under the laws. I have seen teams as well object to the change of goalkeeper on a penalty but that can happen as well.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

Once the referee blows the whistle to indicate that the penalty kick may be taken, the referee should allow the kick to proceed to completion. At that point he must note any player who has violated Law 14.

If he sees a teammate of the kicking team encroach and:

A goal is scored - then the team may take another kick, and as it is a new PK, any player on the field may take it.

A goal is not scored - the referee will stop play and call an indirect free kick foul to be placed at the location of the encroachment.



Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 22534
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.