Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 22670

Law 11 - Offside 12/26/2009

RE: competitive Under 16

aser of mississauga, canada asks...

if a player takes a shot and it hits the post or goalkeepr and there is a player in an offside position when the shot is taken, would i have to flag for an offside or is that a legit play?

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Did the player in the offside position get involved in play? It doesn't sound like it. So you would not indicate offside.

However in re-reading your question, it seems you may have left out a critical point. What happens to the ball after it rebounds from the goalpost or the goalkeeper? If it goes to this player who was in an offside position at the time of the shot, offside is called. This is the "gains an advantage" reason for offside.

Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

If that player interfered with an opponent, or gained an advantage by being in that position by touching the ball which rebounded from one of those items... then the team is punished for being offside. If not, score the goal!

Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

The offside player was there when the shot occurred thus in law he is offside positioned and thus restricted from involvement!? But remember being offside positioned is NOT an offence in of its self!

Then the decision is did he interfere with the opponent or keeper at that time?
NO? Then play continues! but we remember he is STILL restricted!

Yes? He screened the keeper then offside INDFK out!

If the ball rebounds off the keeper or post or crossbar we again look to see if the offside player now chooses to be involved and seeks to play/touch the ball.
Did he interfere with an opponent or physically touch the ball at this point?
NO? Then play continues but we remember he is STILL restricted!

Yes? He recovers the ball off the rebound and shoots at the goal, then offside INDFK out!

(a)Does a new touch of the ball by an onside team-mate reset our offside restricted player who might no longer be offside positioned at that time?
(b)Does the defending team regain complete uncontested controlled possession of the ball and thus reset offside criteria back to onside status for all attacking opponents?
(c)Does the ball go out of play?
ONLY if any of these there things occur, only then is our offside attacker free from his restriction!


Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Aser, first line in Law 11 : It is not an offence in itself to be in an offside position. A player may stand or be in offside position the entire game and MUST NOT be penalized for this unless he becomes actively involved in play. In your question, if the player in offside position when the ball was played interfered with the keeper's line of sight or his position prevented the keeper or another opponent from getting to the ball, he would be guilty of an offside offence for interfering with an opponent. If the ball rebounded from the keeper or crossbar to him and he touched the ball he would be punished for gaining an advantage by being in an offside position, if he touched the ball on the way to the keeper/goal post, he would be guilty of interfering with play. If he does none of these things than he cannot have committed an offside offence which involves POSITION + INVOLVEMENT

Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 22670
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.