Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 22689

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 12/31/2009

RE: Competive Adult

Alberto Sandoval Jr of West Valley, Utah USA asks...

I am a goal keeper and during a game the opposing team took a shot from above the eighteens. I had both hands in front of me as I killed the ball with both hands and it fell infront of me. Can I handle the ball or do i have to kick it out?

When i picked up the ball the ref called a hand ball, in the other teams favor? What do you think of that?

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

If you blocked the ball and did not have total control of it then you should still be allowed to pick it up again.

If you were able to control it and then dropped it or controlled it well enough that you could easily direct it to a teammate, then you cannot pick it up again.

Whether this referee was correct, has to do with what he saw on that field.



Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

You ask, "What do I think of that?"
Not much considering there is no foul of hand ball!

There are a few possibilities here
(1)The referee sees the attempt to control as a save that deflected; you are permitted to reuse the hands on the ball again! If you choose to do so! Play continues!
(2A)The referee sees the attempt as a controlled PARRY where you forgo the usual 6 seconds of uncontested possession and essentially catch, control and release the ball all in the same motion thus rendering a second touch of the ball with the hands as a violation of the laws of the game! You also recognize it and/or refrain from using your hands! Play continues!
(2B)The referee sees the attempt as a controlled PARRY where you forgo the usual 6 seconds of uncontested possession and essential catch, control and release the ball all in the same motion thus rendering a second touch of the ball with the hands as a violation of the laws of the game! You do not recognize it and you grab the ball a second time. The referee decides to overlook it as trifling in the opposition was not disadvantaged, the match needs were not greatly compromised and a verbal warning suffices. Play continues!
(2C) The referee sees the attempt as a controlled PARRY where you forgo the usual 6 seconds of uncontested possession and essential catch, control and release the ball all in the same motion thus rendering a second touch of the ball with the hands as a violation of the laws of the game! You do not recognize it and you grab the ball a second time. The referee decides to award an INDFK from the point of the infraction.

This piece of law is a hold over from the 4 step only era and to use up a bit of time before an opponent could force the keeper to hold onto the ball and then kick or throw the ball back into contested play!
Of course any deliberate handling by the keeper OUTSIDE the penalty area is always a DFK offence.

FIFA quote
Offences committed by goalkeepers
A goalkeeper is not permitted to touch the ball with his hand inside his own penalty area in the following circumstances:
? if he handles the ball again after it has been released from his possession and has not touched any other player:
? the goalkeeper is considered to be in control of the ball by touching it with any part of his hands or arms except if the ball rebounds accidentally from him, for example, after he has made a save
? possession of the ball includes the goalkeeper deliberately parrying the ball
Restart of play
? Indirect free kick from the position where the offence occurred
(see Law 13 ? Position of Free Kick)

Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Alberto
The question that the referee has to ask 'Is this a deflection from a shot or a controlled 'parry' of the ball. The strength of the shot is for me the deciding factor. If it is a controlled parry, meaning that the goalkeeper could have easily held on to the ball but chose instead to release the ball from his/her hands the goalkeeper is not allowed to touch the ball AGAIN with his hands
To give an example. In a game last season I gave the IDFK in a situation where the ball was bouncing back to the keeper after a poor, weak shot. It was near the end of the game. The keeper, not trusting his ability to control the ball with his foot, used his hands to parry the ball down to his feet. He then dribbled the ball away towards the corner flag to waste some time and then when he was closed down he promptly picked up the ball. That is an infringement under the Laws
Compare that with a strong shot that hits the keeper hands and he is unable to hold on to the ball and it bounces away. That is a totally different situation and he is allowed in that situation to pick that ball up.
When I coached I recommended to goalkeepers to pick the ball up immediately from the knock down of a shot, almost one motion so that there is no doubt about it and put the ball back into play promptly within the 6 seconds. Where keepers 'parry' the ball down and dribble then the keeper should not pick the ball up.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 22689
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 22700

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.