Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 22696

Law 11 - Offside 1/3/2010

P O'MALLEY of santa barbara, CA USA asks...

THE GOAL KEEPER OF THE DEFENDING TEAM TAKES A QUICK GOAL KICK. THE BALL LEAVES THE PENALTY AREA, AND ACCIDENTALLY BOUNCES OFF THE BACK OF A RETREATING ATTACKER AND TO AN ATTACKING PLAYER IN AN OFFSIDE POSITION WHO THEN TURNS WITH THE BALL AND KICKS IT INTO THE NET.
QUESTION: NO GOAL BECAUSE THE BALL WAS LAST TOUCHED BY THE BACK OF A RETREATING TEAM MATE?
OR NO GOAL BECAUSE THE PLAYER IN THE OFFSIDE POSITION GAINED AN ADVANTAGE BY BEING THERE?
OR A GOAL BECAUSE THE BALL WAS LAST INTENTIONALLY PLAYED BY THE GOAL KEEPER AND NOT A TEAM MATE OF THE PLAYER IN THE OFFSIDE POSTION?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi
As the ball left the penalty area it is in play and as the last player to touch the ball was an attacker albeit accidentally then when it is touched by his attacking team mate who is in an offside position then that is offside and the referee disallows the goal and awards an indirect free kick from where the offside player was when the ball was deflected off the attacker's team mate's back. The fact that the touch by the retreating attacker was accidental makes no difference.
If the retreating attacker played the ball himself then that cannot be offside as then the last player to touch the ball was the goalkeeper.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson


The goal kick initially permits any player from either team to be in an offside position free of encumbrance of any restriction.

Once the ball leaves the confines of the penalty area it is in active play!

When the ball makes physical CONTACT with the retreating attacker (opponent) accidently or not, this is a NEW phase of play and offside criteria are revaluated! If the attackers have offside positioned players at that moment then those attacking players are restricted from involvement.

The offside attacker receiving this rebound is guilty of interfering with play! It is not truly classified as gaining an advantage because he receives the ball directly (albeit inadvertently) from a team mate!

It would be no goal, indfk out IF the attacker receiving the deflection off his team mate was in an offside position at that moment the ball hit his teammate in the back.

The critical moment is where is the attacking player in side the oppositions half? Is he closer to the goal line than the 2nd last opponent (defender) or the ball when the team mate's back and ball make contact? If so, he is restricted and cannot participate.

PS Caps are a form of shouting on the internet used to indicate an occasional emphasis or anger! They actually make it more difficult to read! Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

First, offside applies only between teammates, so initially as the ball went directly from the goalkeeper to opponent A, there is no offside consideration. (Additionally, at a goal kick a teammate who first receives the ball is exempt from offside.)

Then the ball bounces from A's back to B, a teammate. If B was in an offside position at the time the ball touched A, he is not allowed to become involved in play. Law 11 says, 'at the moment the ball touches or is played by one of his team'. The touch does not have to be a deliberate play; it can be an inadvertent play and as in this case a touch that the player doesn't even realize will happen.

PS: Please turn off your caps lock. It is hard to read, and is interpreted as shouting.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

The ball touched a teammate then went directly to a player in offside position when the ball touched his teammate. Clear case of offside for interfering with play.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 22696
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 22706

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.